38/39 weeks!

Well, this is going to be my last pregnancy post! We had a doctor’s appointment yesterday and the doctor decided that it would be a good idea to set an induction date since I’m due next Wednesday and they don’t want me to go past that, if possible, due to the GD. There aren’t any problems (my blood sugar has been great, babet’s not too big and she’s still good and active and passed this week’s non-stress test with flying colors), so no worries. It’s just a precaution with GD patients. At the same time, last week’s ultrasound showed that babet appears ready to come. Plus, 39 weeks really isn’t too early. 38 weeks is technically considered full term.

So, this Wednesday night (tomorrow), I’m checking into the hospital and getting a cervidil put in to help soften my cervix (I was actually about 1 cm dilated yesterday (by the way, ow. I DO NOT like cervix checks!), but still pretty thick. The doctor did say he could feel babet’s head though, I guess just beyond, so I think that’s a good thing, meaning that she’s down in position.) and then Thursday morning, they’ll start me on pitocin to induce labor. I’m a little nervous, again, because I’ve heard pitocin can sometimes make contractions more intense than they’d naturally be, but again, once I hit a certain level of dilation, I’ll be all about the epidural, so hopefully it just won’t take too long to get there. The point of giving me the cervidil tomorrow night is to try to make my body a bit more favorable for things to not go too slow. Still, the doctor suggested that the baby might not be here until Friday or so, which sounds like a long time to me! Lots of first-time labors take a bit longer though.

I don’t know if it’s quite hit me that in a few days, babet will be in my arms and not my belly. She’ll be here. Real (not that she’s fake now). Chris did say to me, on our way out of the appointment, “This time next week, you’ll be a mommy” and that hit me a bit. I started to cry a little. Not out of fear, but just a “wow” moment. I’m so excited to meet this little girl and see what she looks like and look into her eyes. At the same time, I suppose I’m a little sad for the pregnancy to end. I know that sound kinda silly. I’m getting something so much better – a baby! But part of me will miss the belly and the kicks and the special connection really only I could have with her to this point. But again on the other hand, I’m so excited to see Chris be a daddy. I can’t wait to see him hold her for the first time. I know he’ll be an amazing father. We’re both really excited.

So, the next time you hear from me, I’ll hopefully be introducing our new daughter! 😀

How Far Along: 39 weeks tomorrow!
Baby’s Size: As of tomorrow,
babet is the size of a mini watermellon and weighs about 7 lbs.
Maternity Clothes: Of course.
Best Moment this week:
Finding out approximately when I’m having babet!  (TSO was fabulous of course, too – I’ll probably eventually do a post on that.)
Gender:
GIRL!
Movement:
Yup.
Food Craving: Sugar. Not much longer till I can indulge!
What I miss: Sleeping comfortably.

Sleep:
Bah.
Belly Button: Still technically an innie. It just looks like it’s being pulled downward a bit, so it’s pretty shallow.
What I am looking forward to: Having our baby!!!

Leave a Reply

