36/37 weeks!

Well, I’m definitely getting toward the end here! Sorry to miss a week, but my energy is just gone. Plus, I’ve had some so-so nights lately. One early morning I thought I may or may not have had some contractions. They stopped when I got up and were very irregularly spaced (plus no closer than 15 min apart or so), but weren’t painless like Braxton-Hicks. Then I had several nights where I was just fine, minus one headache. And then the past 2 mornings, I woke up with some pain – not intermittent though, it was fairly constant and when I tried to flip over, the baby was balled up like I’ve never seen her. My stomach was practically triangular pointing upward. It was really weird. But again, as soon as I shifted to my left side I felt mostly better and when I got up, I felt just fine.

Today we had a big appointment! I had a biophysical profile ultrasound to check on babet’s weight, position, and activity, as well as the state of my cervix, placenta, and amniotic fluid. Everything looked good and babet got an 8/8 (based on general movement, practice breathing motions, amniotic fluid, and heart rate) very quickly. She’s also measuring at about 6.5 lbs, which was about 33rd percentile, but the doctor said that was just fine and I’m mostly just glad she’s not huge (even if she does feel like she must weigh about 20 lbs).   I was also kinda hoping for a last minute “yup, she’s a girl”, since I still haven’t washed any girl clothes due to my silly fear of a surprise and many trips to stores to beg to exchange things, some of which may be beyond return dates (this is the crux of the fear here – the things we’ve bought and stuff we’ve done to the nursery. I’d be perfectly happy with a son.). Alas, as usual, babet did not want to share, so oh well. She’s definitely still head down, too, which is good. After the ultrasound, we met the final doctor of the practice, Dr. Gorsuch. She seemed fine. A little less personable than the others perhaps, but certainly capable. She checked my cervix and to my slight disappointment, I’m locked up tight. The doctor assured me that it really doesn’t mean much other than I’m not in labor right now and that technically, I could go into labor tonight if babet decides to come, but I guess I just hoped that some of the pain I’ve been feeling in the past week might’ve made some progress. She thinks the “contractions” I had last week were just stronger Braxton-Hicks. That was a bit heartbreaking to hear. They hurt! But she said that hopefully those might help my body make some progress over the next week and we’ll check to see if any progress has been made next Monday. No date has been set for an induction yet though. Basically, my cervix is not favorable for that right now. I guess that means the drugs to induce me wouldn’t really work right now. As for the more recent pain, the doctor seemed to agree with my guess that laying on my right side is just not possible anymore since the baby is laying mostly to my right side, so I guess she’s just putting more pressure there – she suggested I try to sleep on a recliner if I have trouble on my left side, too.

Anyway, in general I’m definitely tired after being up about 8-10 hours and have been kinda achey if I walk much. The support belt helps, but my belly feels so low and heavy and it sometimes feels like her head is trying to fall through me (haha, like it would be so easy for her to just fall out). I’m also up 3-4 times a night to pee, which isn’t fun. Getting out of bed is hard, especially having to get out of the pillow taco I’ve got set up (huge u-shaped pillow, plus an extra head pillow, plus 2 more side pillows for extra back and belly support). Rolling over is also difficult. So, basically, I’m starting to kind of be ready for babet to be born. I’m just so uncomfortable. I did have a bit of a freak out a couple nights ago, realizing it could be any day now, but Chris told me he believes in me and knows we can do it, which made me feel better. I do kind of selfishly wish she’ll wait till at least the 3rd though, so we can see TSO, lol. It’s just so weird not knowing what’s going on and when she’ll want to come. Of course, if I have to be induced at 39-40 weeks, that takes some of the uncertainty out (assuming I don’t go into labor on my own before that day), but that adds a whole new issue of increasing anxiety up to that day, just knowing exactly when it is. Don’t get me wrong, I am super excited. I’m just also very nervous. Nervous about labor, nervous about not knowing what to do when we get home, etc.

My hospital bag is for the most part packed (just have the few unpackable items left like my pillow and phone charger) and I’m preregistered at the hospital. The swing/bouncer/pack n’ play are all assembled and ready. The car seat is installed, though not yet inspected. We’re going to see if the hospital will do it, since apparently our local fire stations (who the childbirth class told us to go to) aren’t allowed to inspect them anymore and the resource the fire stations referred us to has one inspection day per week, a good 40 minutes away in an unfamiliar area. There may be a closer location on another date, but I’d have to wait till another week – for all I know the baby might be here by then. We followed the directions though, and it seems to be snug, so I’m not terribly concerned. The doctor today mentioned that she thinks the hospital does check for us. And finally, I’ve changed my mind on our chosen pediatrician. We didn’t interview or anything – we originally just asked the OB for a recommendation and they gave us a list including both our original choice as well as our new one and I just randomly chose one practice even though their most highly recommended doctor wasn’t actually available for new patients. The one I changed my mind for now we’ve at least met and heard his doctoring style and thoughts on different topics at the parenting class, so that was kinda like an interview and so now I feel better about choosing him over the other place. So, really, all that’s left, I think, are a few last minute items still to pick up from Babies R Us. And I have to start thinking about Christmas.

In other news, we had Chris’s family in town this week, which was really nice. We went out to eat a lot, did a lot of relaxing, walked around the mall, mom-in-law and I had mani/pedis (which was soo nice! I just can’t reach my feet properly anymore and they were in dire need of some TLC), and set up the Christmas tree! For Thanksgiving, everyone suggested we go out so I wouldn’t have to cook, which I appreciate, so we went to a nice restaurant called Upstream and had a really great buffet with carving stations. There were so many food options – we definitely all had plenty of choices (even me!). I was very well behaved with my diet and only had a small amount of carbs – a small spoonful of loaded mashed potatoes and cornbread stuffing, 2 small spoonfuls of a really amazing sweet potato casserole (how I wish I could’ve had an entire plate!), and a few bites of a few mini desserts (including pumpkin pie which I’ve so been craving) . And my after dinner reading was actually still good! Yay me! The next morning was a tad higher than the awesome results I’d been getting the past week, but still under the limit (after bf was a point high – I just sat around though. I probably could’ve avoided that with a walk or something). And I seem to be completely back to normal now.

And here’s a belly picture for 9 months (although technically, I took it today at almost 38 weeks):

9.5 months

9 1/2 months!

How Far Along: 37 weeks!
Baby’s Size:
Babet is the size of a stalk of swiss chard and weighs about 6.5 lbs.
Maternity Clothes: Of course.
Best Moment this week:
Having family visit.
Gender:
GIRL!
Movement:
Yup. Still going strong.
Food Craving: Sugar. I miss sugar. I’ve been building a list of things to get after babet arrives!
What I miss: Sleeping comfortably.

Sleep:
Bah.
Belly Button: Still technically an innie. It just looks like it’s being pulled downward a bit, so it’s pretty shallow.
What I am looking forward to: TSO on Thursday!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kathleen
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 22:26:30

    WOW!!! Your tummy is HUGE!!! And I mean that in the kindest possible way! 🙂 How exciting. I can’t imagine how it must feel for you getting such a great gift sooo soon now. It is kinda strange how you’re just waiting for her to say it’s time, something you don’t really have the control over…even though she’s in YOUR body! Hope you post some pics of her. Can’t wait to see. Oh and by the way…….we leave for Florida in 10 days! You’ll have to send me your email address so I can forward you our photos when we get back. Congrats on your soon to be baby girl, both of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

