34 weeks!

Well, I’m a tad late on this week’s post, but oh well. I’m pregnant. I’m sure you’ll understand if I’m lazy sometimes.

So, I guess the biggest news this week is that we’ve got most of the nursery done! 😀 I love how it looks! I do still need to put a few things up on the walls and find a few more things to put on the hutch shelves, but it’s definitely ready for babet in terms of functionality. The painter did a great job – you can’t tell at all that most of the border is still under there. It just looks like a lovely light pink room! And the white trim  and new white childproof outlets and light switch all look so nice next to the pink. I don’t know what color the trim was before – some sort of murky off-white. So, big improvement overall! The furniture came on Saturday and the delivery guys put everything together for us, so we didn’t even have to figure it all out. And it’s all solidly put together, so no worries there. Once I walked in the room when they finished up, I was so happy. I couldn’t believe we finally had nursery furniture! I got straight to decorating, putting in the crib bedding, valances on the windows, and a few miscellaneous items around the room. I’m still waiting on babet’s custom painted name letters and I still haven’t put up the wall vinyl, but I figured I may as well show you all what it looks like so far, since it’s mostly done. Of course, any of you who are my Facebook friends (probably most of my, like, 5 readers) have already seen these, but that’s ok.

 

Crib
Crib and rocking chair. (lamp off) A few notes: 1. Yes, the bumper and blanket will be moved once babet arrives. I just wanted to see it all together. I don’t know what I’ll do with the bumper (maybe hang it over the  dresser hutch…), but I’ll be hanging the blanket on the wall between the dresser and window. 2. That space over the crib  won’t always be empty. I still need to put up the big branchy/flowery wall vinyl I have as well as babet’s custom made wood letter name hanging, which I’m still waiting on.  3. That chair cover is horrendous. I love the color of it, but it’s a just a king-size fitted sheet. It looks baggy and ridiculous. Oh well. 4. The space to the left of the crib is space for the closet door to open. 5. The wall color is a bit hard to capture on camera – you’ll see it better in the “lights on” pictures.
window
View towards the window, with the lamp on. I wanted to include a mix of lights on/lights off pictures since it really changes the shade of the room. The lamp puts out a bit of a pinkish glow that’s really warm.
dresser
Dresser and hamper. (also a small pile of trash – just ignore that!) (lamp on) Ths picture really shows the color of the walls the best.
closets
View towards the closet (it’s one closet with 2 doors). (lamp off)

I also put together babet’s swing and bouncer seat. The swing gave me a bit of trouble – one of the screws it came with was kinda melted and misshapen, so I ended up having to exchange the whole thing for a new one, but the new one is now put together and ready to go! For some reason, there was a $0.75 credit after the exchange, too (for the same item!)…which the employee put onto a gift card for me. Oh boy! 75 cents! What ever shall I buy? The bouncer was much more straightforward and quite easy to put together, but geez, the fabric is so tight on these things. I understand you want it to be snug to hold your baby, but it’s practically a slingshot! At least there’s a safety belt. I should probably put together the pack n’ play at some point soon, too. Maybe this weekend.

We also had a doctor’s appointment this week. Babet had her first non-stress test (externally monitors fetal heart rate, contractions, if any, and fetal movements for 15 min or so), which we’ll now be having weekly (we’re finally on to weekly appointments!) and which the doctor said looked good. I also met a new doctor, Dr. Vuong, who I also liked. I’m really glad I’m liking all the doctors. She was very thorough and asked me all about my blood sugar readings and felt my belly and said that it feels like babet’s head is still down, which is good. She also answered all of my questions really well. The biggest news I got was that I won’t be allowed to go past 40 weeks because of the gestational diabetes. I’m not sure how often women go past their due dates, but it’s kinda cool to know for sure that babet will be here by the 15th or so (and a little scary – that’s only like a month away!!). I was a little concerned about spending Christmas in the hospital and having babet’s birthday be on Christmas, which I imagine would kind of suck for her. But, no need to worry – apparently we’ll do an ultrasound around 38-39 weeks to check on her size and check my cervix and decide what to do. If I go into labor on my own before 39 weeks, fine; if not, we’ll schedule an induction for between 39 and 40 weeks (that does scare me a tad. I’ve heard induced labor can hurt more than normal labor thanks to the drugs they give you). A scheduled C-section would only be necessary if she’s measuring large (I think over 9 lbs) at that ultrasound, so hopefully she’ll stay around 50th percentile in size. And finally, I asked the doctor about the TSO concert, fully expecting her to say something like, “Are you nuts? You want to go to a concert at 38 weeks? No!”, but she actually said there was no problem with it as long as I’m not sitting directly next to a speaker (which we won’t be – we’ll be in the semi-nosebleeds, since we didn’t pre-order tickets through the fan club this year. Which I’m totally fine with. I’m happy to go at all.) and thought the baby might like it, lol. That made my day. And made me like her even more! So, the plan now is to go! I’m so excited! I know I can’t predict how I’ll feel that night, and if I don’t feel right, I won’t go, but assuming I feel good, I’m going and I can’t wait! I love their winter show.

So, that’s about it for this week. Next appointment is Monday; another attempt to meet Dr. Sharawy (I will meet him, darnit! We even saw him at the restaurant where Chris and I had lunch before this week’s appointment. It’s like he’s taunting me! (ok, I know not really.)) Unfortunately, I’ll be alone for that appointment since Chris will be away for work, but I did ask my doctor about the likelihood of going into labor next week and she comforted me by saying it would be pretty unlikely. Plus, Chris has said he’ll be on the first plane home if ANYTHING happens, so I’m not too worried.

How Far Along: 34 weeks! (though I suppose you may have noticed I write these posts at the end of my gestational weeks, so technically I’m always a week later than the post says)
Baby’s Size:
Babet is the size of a cantaloupe and probably weighs about 4.75 lbs. Perhaps just a bit bigger if babet is still 55th percentile.
Maternity Clothes: Of course. Been wearing the belly support sling the past few days, too.
Best Moment this week:
Nursery!!
Gender:
GIRL!
Movement:
Yup. Still trying to push my belly button out. It’s kind of uncomfortable at times, but I still love feeling her. I think I may have identified the tiny frequent protrusion on my right side as either an elbow or a foot. My guess is elbow. It feels pointy.
Food Craving: Bags of Halloween candy, whole pumpkin pies. I have such healthy cravings. And can’t satisfy any of them. 😡 Ooh, but! My GD nurse that I’ve been meeting with gave me some post-birth instructions and apparently, I go straight back to eating normally after I give birth! No weening off the horrendous diet! I’ll monitor my blood sugar 3x a week (much better than 28!) for 6 weeks and report to my OB at my 6 week postpartum appointment and do one more gross 1 hr. glucose test (I think only 1 hr…she said 50 mg) to make sure I’m not developing Type II diabetes (she said most women don’t. At least not right away. I am at a higher risk for as I get older, though – so I’ll have to be tested once a year, which I’ve been doing for years anyway.). That was such good news though! I’m totally bringing candy to the hospital!
What I miss: Sleeping comfortably.
My back has been awful lately at night. Getting up to pee, I’m like an 95 year old woman, hobbling to the bathroom.
Sleep:
See above.
Belly Button: Still an innie. It seems to definitely keep getting shallower, but it’s putting up a fight! It doesn’t want to go out! As I mentioned above, babet is still trying to push it out. I do not appreciate this, lol.
What I am looking forward to: Meeting Dr. Sharawy, I guess?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Babygirl
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 21:31:49

    Congrats! And the baby room looks great. Wonderful job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

