33 weeks!

Still plugging along here. Just a mishmash of little things to mention this week.

We saw some friends from Greenville last weekend, which was great! I wish we could’ve hung out longer, but Chris and I had a parenting class to go to, so we had dinner with them, they stayed over, and then we had breakfast together. I really do miss you guys!

dinner with friends

Us at dinner

I also started my glyburide last week and for the most part, it seems to be working pretty well. I had 2 unexpected borderline mornings, so they told me to report back on Friday with my numbers to see if we need to change it up, but it’s been working much better again the past 2 days, so I’m hoping not. I think I just got up too late those 2 mornings.

We’ve also got the painter out this week! He actually came to the same conclusion we did: that border isn’t coming down without destroying the wall. He tried all sorts of things we hadn’t, also, including some sort of acid! So, he decided the best thing to do would be to spackle over the edge of the border to even out the wall, which he did yesterday, and tomorrow he’ll be back to sand any imperfections smooth and paint! He’s confident we’ll never know the border was there, so I’m hoping it’ll look just fine. And then with the furniture coming Saturday, I’ll finally get to add decor and bedding and see it all come together! Yay! 😀

And then Sunday, the holiday decor frenzy begins (I figured I’d wait till the painter and delivery guys were out of here, lest they think I’m nuts)! Or, I suppose I should say the “holiday decor slow puttering” as I really don’t think I’ll get it done terribly quickly because, although I’m certainly in nesting mode, my energy doesn’t keep up with what I want to do (which is why I’m starting so early). I’ve got a good 8 large tupperware boxes full of decor and I intend to put it all up. We got a new fuller, much nicer quality 7.5 foot tree this year (we’ve been making do (making due? making duu! wooster?) with a cheapo, sparse 6 foot from Walmart the past 5 years or so) , so I’m excited to see that! And this being our first Christmas in this house, I’m excited to see how all the decor looks here. <squee!> I love Christmas! I must admit, I’ve actually been listening to Christmas music on Last FM for about a week now…I’m not well, lol. And anytime a Trans-siberian Orchestra song comes on, I get all excited and then all depressed since we don’t plan to see them this year, given that they’ll be in town only about 13 days before I’m due. Although…I have asked Chris if, on Dec. 2, I’m feeling well and not appearing to be about ready to give birth, if it might be possible to go last minute and try to get tickets in the nosebleeds. And I know there are still tickets left now at least; I checked yesterday. I guess the main question would be whether or not our doctor thinks it would be a terrible idea. We saw TSO on their spring tour when I was about 8 weeks, so I’ve been to a concert while pregnant, but 8 weeks is quite different than 38 weeks. For one, the baby can hear now, so I don’t want to damage her ears – is the baby protected in the womb from loudish noises? It’s not a terribly crazy concert energywise – you sit in seats the whole time, so I don’t have to worry about getting squashed in a mosh pit or something. I’m also not sure I’m terribly worried about the concert putting me into labor – is that even possible? Plus, I’d be 38 weeks anyway, which really isn’t too early to be born. Of course I want babet to cook as long as possible, but a lot of doctors consider 37-38 weeks full term and, I think if our baby were growing too fast due to the GD, the doctors could technically want to get her out that early anyway. But anyway. I’d only go if the doctor okayed it (and assuming I hadn’t already had babet or was in the process of doing so, of course). That would make me happy though. I love TSO (even without my Chris Altenhoff <pout>. I’ve heard Dave Z is a suitable replacement in terms of energy. He even looks a little bit like him. A tad too muscley though.). And dammit – I’ve had to give up my sugar, can’t I just have this? LOL.

And finally, we had our last childbirth class plus a parenting class this week, which finishes up the classes I signed us up for. I’m pretty happy we signed up for them. I learned a good amount in each class. I think the 2 best were the breastfeeding class and the childbirth class. Interestingly, I had different reactions to each of the 3 childbirth class sessions. The first childbirth class (natural birth) didn’t freak me out too much, probably because I don’t intend to give birth naturally unless I don’t have a choice, so I don’t think about it too much. Plus all the massage, breathing, and music kind of lulled me into a false sense of “ooh, this is nice,” since I didn’t actually have the pain accompanying it. Similarly, the last class (C-section, after-birth care, and a touch of newborn care) didn’t freak me out too much – I’d already heard the newborn stuff at the parenting class and the after-birth care was a tad surprising and gross at times, but not too overwhelming. I’m not sure why the C-section stuff didn’t freak me out – the topic has come up briefly a few times in my doctor’s appointments and although as of now, everything is right on target for a vaginal birth, you never know. And C-sections are kinda scary since they’re major surgery and all. I was a total wuss when I had my out-patient laproscopic gall bladder surgery – they had to kick me out at closing time after I spent hours not wanting to stand up and leave thanks to pain and nausea (the guy in the bed next to me apparently left like half an hour after he woke up, completely fine), and then the pain meds they gave me (tylenol with codeine, lame) did nothing but make me even more nauseous. So, I’m not sure how I’d handle a big incision! Granted you get to stay in the hospital for 3-4 days, but still. And then having to wait to hold your baby, boo. And not being able to move too much after you go home so you heal! Chris only has 5 vacation days left this year! Though hopefully, my parents will be visiting not too long after babet arrives, so that will be nice. But anyway, the class that made me the most unsure was actually the medicated birth class. Maybe because that’s my planned route and so I had to imagine myself in that position more. I think I’m just psyching myself out too much. The ladies in the videos looked like they were still in quite a bit of pain and good God, the head coming out…how does it fit? My lady bits shouldn’t stretch that much! And what if the medication doesn’t work? Or I can’t have it for some reason! Or what if I panic because I can’t feel my legs? This is why I shouldn’t research things or learn about things, lol. It just makes me a bundle of nerves. And it’s almost here! Ok, Melissa, focus on the babet. She will be worth it.

And finally, just for fun, me in my little Halloween shirt:

Halloween outfit

A little pumpkin over my little pumpkin!

Halloween outfit side

And from the side, for an extra bump picture! Though, oddly, it looks smaller this week than my 32 week pic.

How Far Along: 33 weeks! (though I suppose you may have noticed I write these posts at the end of my gestational weeks, so technically I’m always a week later than the post says)
Baby’s Size:
Babet is the size of a pineapple and weighs just over 4 pounds! Actually, our ultrasound tech said that babet looked to be about 4 lbs 7 oz, though I have heard ultrasounds can be a tad off on weight.
Maternity Clothes:
Of course.
Best Moment this week:
Seeing friends from Greenville!
Gender:
GIRL!
Movement:
Yup. Hiccups have been more frequent this week, too.
Food Craving: Halloween candy. I let myself have one small piece.
What I miss: Sleeping comfortably.

Sleep:
Still hard to get comfy.
Belly Button: Still an innie. It seems to definitely keep getting shallower, but it still has a ways to go to be an outie, so it might not reach that point. Babet likes to try to push it outward though! That feels weird.
What I am looking forward to: Nursery furniture this weekend!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mama
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 17:50:50

    Hahaha, lady bits! You’re so funny. Hahaha!

    Reply

  2. Marcie
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 19:29:03

    It’s possible your hospital does things differently but I didn’t have to really wait to hold the boys. They were born, cleaned up, weighed/measured, then handed to Jim so he could hand them to me. We all went back to the room together and spent the next “1 hour recovery time” loving on each other. For a v-birth, my understanding is they have you up and walking after a few hours. For a c-section, it’s 12hrs. I carried a boy into the house when we got home and pretty much did everything I wanted to, although I tried to move slowly just in case. Within a week of the boys being born, I was both totally off my pain meds and walking around Reedy River park.

    I left the hospital after 3 days. I was ready to go home, although I could have stayed another night if I wanted. They give you some pretty good drugs and leave it up to you when you want to stop taking them.

    I love your pumpkin shirt!!

    Reply

  3. Molly
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 15:39:41

    Hi Mel, I’m glad things are doing well! I wanted to let you know that my friend was due about the same time as you, but the baby was born about 2 weeks ago. She is completely fine, just tiny. So, please don’t worry!

    Also, my mom said that head coming out is not the worst part, it’s the shoulders! But I agree, how the heck are you supposed to fit that thing out of there? I can NOT picturing “lady bits” getting big enough for that, there’s just no way!

    I hope to get to meet the little one, please let me know if you guys come to Jersey

    Reply

  4. chii-wey
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 23:31:16

    “being mentioned in Mel’s blog. Check!” 🙂

    Was REALLY great to see you guys!! Next time we’ll have to make sure we get more hours in and no waking up early bizness! I can’t believe it’s the first time we’ve met up since you moved. Too long IMO!

    Love the crib (even more so since we saw the ‘before’) … so excited for you guys. Will be making the first possible trip up to visit as soon as you allow visitors!!! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

