28 weeks!!

Well, finally at 7 months! And 3rd trimester! 😀 Again, my mind is kind of torn – I feel like I’ve been pregnant for quite a while and that the end (and babet) is near – only about 12 weeks to go! At the same time, however, 12 weeks is still about  3 months, which is kinda a long time, and when I look at myself, I don’t quite feel I look like a 7 month pregnant woman. Maybe it’s just the fact that I haven’t experienced the dramatic shift in look that a woman who started off thin would. Plus, I only just got asked for the first time last week a question about my pregnancy from someone who didn’t know me, without me mentioning the pregnancy first – and I’ve had absolutely no people trying to touch my belly. Which I suppose is good – lots of pregnant woman complain about that and I can see how it would be off-putting, but I dunno – it’s just one of those things you hear about from like, everyone. But, whatever – I’m still feeling pretty good, which makes me happy.

We had another OB appointment this week where we met another new doctor (I think I still have 3 more to meet), Dr. Bull. She was definitely Chris’s favorite so far. She’s very blunt and matter-of-fact, just like him. I liked her, too. She was blunt, but never mean – I do still like a bit of coddling so I was kind of surprised I liked her, but the way Dr. Bull answered our questions actually made me feel more certain about things we asked about (maternity classes, hospital tour, pediatricians, vaccinations for baby, flu shots – stuff like that). Unfortunately, she appears to be around as pregnant as I am, so I’m guessing she won’t be on call when I give birth. But that’s ok. I’d still be happy with anyone else I’ve met so far and the 3 doctors I have yet to meet are the 3 I had read the most about prior to choosing this OB/Gyn, so I know we’ll be in good hands. I’d say at this point, I’d be hoping most for Dr. Little, but we’ll see how I feel after I meet the other 3. That part of the appointment went well, despite getting what I’m guessing was a new nurse – she was really slow and precise in weighing me, tightened the blood pressure cuff a bit tight, and then took forever with the fetal doppler. I don’t even know why. She found the heartbeat right away, despite practically hovering the wand over my belly rather than the slight amount of pressure they normally apply, but for some reason, she just kept moving the wand, getting the heartbeat again, and then moving the wand again! How many places do you need to find it?! Anyway, after talking to the doctor, I got a flu shot (Chris is getting his this week sometime at CVS) and then moseyed back over to the lab waiting room for my repeat 3 hour glucose test (though I actually started it before seeing the doctor). They gave me the red drink this time, which I actually thought was better than the orange, but I think the combination of not sleeping well the night before, the glucose test, and the flu shot left me feeling kinda icky around hour 2.5. I was exhausted, kinda nauseous, and breaking a bit of a sweat. Luckily, a woman in the waiting room started talking to me and another pregnant lady about her pregnancy with the 2 year old she had with her and that distracted me. By the time I left I felt much better. In spite of the fact that part of the woman’s story involved her 3 DAY LABOR. Egads.

So, anyway, I’m still waiting on the results of the glucose test (I’m hoping for a similar result to last time – I’m not sure I can expect better, as in a completely normal result, but I really really hope I still don’t have gestational diabetes.). Also, unfortunately, I haven’t switched over to biweekly appointments yet (I do after the next appointment in a month), but we’ve got quite a few things lined up for us in the next month or 2. I signed us up for a hospital tour and several maternity classes: childbirth preparation (a 3 night class about childbirth), preparing to parent a baby (1 class on parenting styles and general prep for what to do with a baby), infant CPR and safety (1 class), and introduction to breastfeeding (1 class). I also found a pediatric group that will be accepting new patients in Dec. when the baby comes and was highly recommended by Dr. Bull (and several of her patients, she said), so I’ve got that lined up (though I don’t actually make an appointment till the baby’s here). We’ve also gotten one more piece of advice on the evil border in our nursery. Apparently, it seems whoever put it up glued it directly to the drywall rather than preparing the wall in any way, which is why we’re having so much trouble with it – our neighbors have a steamer they said they’ve used successfully in this sort of situation, so we’re going to try to borrow that and, if all else fails, they gave us a number for a professional painter who actually lives in the neighborhood. Speaking of paint, we’ve narrowed down our choices to 3 colors and got samples, so we’re going to try those out soon and choose one. And finally, USA Baby said that the remaining items from our order should ship to them on Oct. 9th, so I expect to schedule a delivery for our nursery furniture mid-Oct! It’ll be exciting to see the nursery finally come together!

I also did this cute little project I saw here and made some closet dividers for babet’s clothing! Here’s how they came out:

Closet dividers

Also, my mom-in-law sent me some baby shower pictures, so here’s a few:

Cutting cakebinkies

candid

my fam
Chris's fam

3 pals

And finally, although I only posted a picture 2 weeks ago (late for 6 months), here’s my 7 month picture:

7 months

Oh, hey, bonus! You can see the ugly border in this picture.

How Far Along: 28 weeks!! 3rd trimester!
Baby’s Size: Baby is the
size of a Chinese cabbage and weighs 2 and a quarter lbs! Yay! Over 2 lbs!
Maternity Clothes:
Yup.
Best Moment this week:
Going to the Melting Pot with Chris for a nice dinner. Thanks Chris!
Gender:
GIRL!
Movement:
Yup, kicking and punching away in there! I think I may have felt some hiccups this week, too.
Food Craving: Nothing special this week. The chocolate fondue at the Melting Pot was soo good though.
What I miss:
Sleeping well. Still.
Sleep:
Bah.
Belly Button: Still firmly an innie. It does seem a bit shallower, but still holding out hope that it’ll stay in!
What I am looking forward to: Starting maternity classes, oddly enough.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chii-wey
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 19:00:56

    u might have already guessed that i stalk your blog HEEHEE. again, SOOOO excited for you guys!!!! i can’t even stand getting my teeth cleaned so i’m completely freaked out about childbirth!!!! bring on the drugs i say! my neighbor/friend had a HOME BIRTH and she said it was just AMAZING. i just don’t know how you can relate immense pain with amazing but i guess that’s why it’s such a magical experience! can’t wait to you see you guys and catch up soon!

    Reply

    • sleepymel
      Sep 28, 2010 @ 20:55:46

      Yeah…I fully intend to use whatever drugs they’d like to pump into me. I’m not delusional enough to think I can handle the pain or find it at all enjoyable. More power to people who can, but it’s not for me!

      Reply

  2. Kathleen
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 20:12:51

    You just had to mention The Melting Pot. YUM! Those clothing dividers are pretty stinkin cute, and such a good idea! Enjoyed the shower pics, you have such a great looking family. Sam just surprised me with a new camera for our trip. Like, REAL camera. So, I’m doing my best to learn all I can about it before we leave. Looking forward to some awesome Florida pics!! Oh and BTW, that border IS quite hideous and I seriously wonder what possesses people to do such things. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

