27 weeks!

Well, this week was pretty uneventful. I felt pretty good this week, though, and managed to get a good amount done – I ordered a bunch of stuff online that we needed for babet and it’s been arriving all week (the UPS man is a frequent visitor!), I got some errands outside the house done, and I decorated the house for fall (only a little early as opposed to my expected Nov. 1 Christmas decorating spree – if I don’t do it then, it won’t be done at all and then I’ll be sad. We were in between houses last Christmas, so I only got to decorate a little in our temporary apartment, so I’m determined to go all out this year, even if I do have to start ridiculously early and probably do little bits at a time. I love decorating for Christmas!). I’ve noticed that any time I go out or do a bunch of stuff around the house, I’m pretty much guaranteed to be really tired that night. I went to 3 stores yesterday and last night I felt like a 90 year old woman hobbling around the house. Sleep always helps, though, and I feel better in the morning.

As I’ve finally managed to get most of my thank you notes out, I also decided to start putting away baby stuff into the nursery closet, so now her room and our living room aren’t quite as messy as they were before, with stuff just piled up. I unfortunately can’t set up the nursery itself much yet still, since I’m still waiting to hear from the baby store that our hutch has arrived so I can have our furniture delivered. I think I’ll call Friday just to check on the status, but since I wasn’t expecting any of it to come in till late October, I don’t expect that it has come in yet. Which is fine. We still need to paint the room and that task has suffered a bit of a setback. The original plan was to have Chris remove the current border in the room and then paint the room light pink. Unfortunately, despite his best efforts (and he really has tried a lot of things), that border just isn’t coming down. So, I think we’re going to hire a professional painter to come in and do the work. I just need to pick a color. I went to Lowes yesterday, thinking “Oh, this’ll be easy.” and that maybe I’d come home with 3 choices or something, but no. I came home with a huge stack of colors. I just don’t know what to pick! I had one of the valances with me for color comparison and I just felt that all the lighter colors were too close to white, all the matching colors would obviously blend in with the bedding (and more importantly valances and blanket which would be right on the wall next to the paint), and as for the darker colors, I’m afraid it’ll either be too dark or look like Pepto Bismol tossed all over the walls. So, I dunno. I’ll have Chris look at them tonight with me, but I’m not sure that’ll help much. He’s not much help in the color matching department. It’s not really that big a deal, but I do want it to look good.

Anyway, that’s about it. I had that follow-up hematology appointment and the doctor decided that my blood is nothing to worry about – just pregnancy, so that’s good! And then I have my 28 week appointment Friday (I think – I’m hoping they’ll call as usual to confirm it today or tomorrow since my prego brain has forgotten and I don’t know what I did with the appointment card).

How Far Along: 27 weeks!
Baby’s Size: Baby is the
size of a head of cauliflower and weighs almost 2 lbs!
Maternity Clothes:
Yup.
Best Moment this week:
Babet’s bedding arriving – I absolutely love it!
Gender:
GIRL!
Movement:
Yup, kicking and punching away in there! I had Chris lay his hand on my belly for a few minutes last night to show him how much stronger the movements are now and it totally weirded him out, haha. He said it felt like he was feeling extreme gas in my belly. Haha, such a guy response!
Food Craving: Still sandwiches. I keep seeing commercials for lunch meats! I want them.
What I miss: Being comfy in bed.
I’m up 2-3 times a night to pee, rolling over is a struggle, and hip pain continues to plague me.
Sleep:
See above.
Belly Button: Still firmly an innie. It does seem a bit shallower, but still holding out hope that it’ll stay in!
What I am looking forward to: Well, since I can’t seem to find a consensus on the start of the 3rd trimester, we’ll just call it 28 weeks since that was the latest I saw (I saw anywhere from 25-28 weeks and a simple calculation suggests 26.66, but whatever). So, 3rd trimester!

Leave a Reply

