26 weeks!

I decided I’d just combine weeks 25 and 26 since I technically had a post last week and I just kept forgetting to put up an official 25 week post, so here it is. The last 2 weeks have been pretty exciting – we learned the gender of babet, as the last post shows, and we also had a baby shower!

The 3D ultrasound appointment was really cool. I called up a few weeks ago to schedule it and I signed up for the basic package, which includes 15 minutes of ultrasound plus a CD of pictures, several printed out pictures, and a DVD of your session. I was originally a bit nervous for 2 reasons – 1) I thought babet might still be a tad alienish looking and 2) I was convinced she’d be stubborn again and we might end up with some cool pictures (which would still make the session worth it of course), but no gender. Really, I had no reason to worry much about either. Chris did still think babet looked a tad alienish, but I think he just doesn’t love the 3D look, so he’d think that at 39 weeks as well. She looked very human to me. There were a few views that looked weird because of shadows and when babet had her mouth open, it was kinda weird looking, but overall, the ultrasound tech said she had some nice chub on her cheeks and I was just amazed at how much she looks like…well, a real baby. Which she is of course.  As for the gender, babet had her legs wide open and the tech was sure immediately that babet was a girl. She pointed out the parts to us. The tech was absolutely great – despite us paying for the 15 minute session, she gave us a good 45 minutes. She was determined to get some good shots (babet kept squirming away) and didn’t have another appointment after us. That was really nice of her. So, all in all, a great experience and here’s some of the pictures:

3D 1

3D 2

Babet and her hand (it was up near her face nearly the whole time!)

3D 3

Babet rubbing her eye

3D 4

Babet looking exasperated with us, haha.

3D 5

Babet's feet crossed at the ankles. We can't tell whether they're Chris's wide paddle-feet or my beautiful feet (lol, actually Chris calls them monkey feet since my toes are much longer than his).

After the appointment, I noticed I had a text from my sister asking if we found out, but we had decided that we were going to make the gender reveal at the shower, so I put up a Facebook status update saying “I have a secret.” A few minutes later, my sister called and demanded to know and I could hear my mom in the background also demanding to know. I felt bad, but I told them that we were going to keep it a secret till the shower because I wanted to see people’s reactions since I didn’t get to see anyone’s reactions to the pregnancy announcement. They were bummed, but they understood. Then I went out and bought a bunch of girl clothing!

Girl clothes 1

I love stuff with cute things on the feet or butt!

Girl clothes 2

A few dresses/tunics with pants, some ruffle-butt footed onesies, and more cute things on butts! I love that gray tunic with the owl (owls are so cute!) with the purple heart pants.

Girl clothes 3

Some clothing sets (I love those pants with Love on the butt and that onesie with the elephant!), socks, ruffly pants, a bib that says "Daddy's girl" (so cute!), some hats, and 2 pairs of booties. Those booties are so cute.

Labor Day weekend, we flew up to NJ where they threw a baby shower for us! The flight wasn’t bad (it’s a short flight) and it was great to spend time with both of our families while we were there. I really wish we could see them all much more often. The shower was great! We had a party at Maggiano’s and the food was delicious. Mostly, it was just good to see our relatives again since we don’t get to see them too often. After everyone ate, we finally made the announcement of babet’s gender (I don’t know how much longer we could’ve held it in! Nicki told me she knew it was a girl when I mentioned on the phone that I was going to go clothing shopping (though technically, I had planned on doing that either way!) and Chris’s dad mentioned that he noticed that Chris slipped the day before and said “her” once (which I noticed and hoped no one else did!)) and then opened some gifts for babet! We’re so appreciative of the help everyone gave us in preparing for her arrival and of the love everyone showed us at the shower. I unfortunately don’t have any pictures from the event, but I know both moms took pictures, so I’ll work on getting a few from them.

The return flight was a bit tougher on me – my back and hips were hurting and I think I may have not had enough water throughout the visit because that night I had a few more Braxton Hicks than normal (I normally only have a couple a day). I drank a ton of water that night and the next day (and actually everyday since then) and stayed in bed all day and I’ve been doing better since. I did kind of overexert again this past weekend, though, and my back and hips were really sore again – we only went to a few stores one day and then attempted to start the garage cleanup the next day – but today I feel good again. So lesson learned – don’t push it. Spend lots of time drinking water and relaxing. I still feel like sometimes my belly is firmer than I’m used to, particularly when I get up from sitting for a while, but I think that may just be the growing baby and uterus. The only time it’s annoying is at night when I roll over in bed. The best way I can describe it is by saying that when I roll over, it feels like I have a bowling ball reluctant to comply with gravity in my belly. I think babet gets comfy in one spot and then when I roll, she’s like, “nooo!” and tries to stay put, making part of my belly feel firm – I think the firm spot is actually just her. It definitely doesn’t feel like a Braxton Hicks, which makes me kinda nauseous and makes my heart race. I mentioned it to my doctor last week and she wasn’t really concerned; she just reminded me to keep up the fluids and call if I get too many actual Braxton Hicks.

Speaking of the doctor, I went back this past week for a size check ultrasound since I still haven’t gained weight. It went pretty well – basically, babet is on the petite side of things, but is firmly within normal range for her gestational age, so again I was reminded to eat as often as possible, but the doctor’s not really concerned since she’s in normal range and all of her ratios (like head to belly and something (head or belly, I don’t remember which) to femur) were all completely normal. She wants to check again in a month or so, so yay, another look at babet! This ultrasound tech also confirmed babet is a girl, without me telling her beforehand that we learned she was a girl, so that’s good! I also learned I have a low-lying placenta, but the doctor said the distance from the cervix was fine and that she still thinks I’ll be able to have a vaginal birth. She didn’t seem concerned about it at all. I guess we’ll check that next time, too, but I think the tech said that the uterus grows upward, so I’m guessing that means it shouldn’t change. Next OB appointment, though, is in a week and a half – my regular monthly appointment (is 28 weeks the last monthly one before switching to bi-weekly?) plus a repeat 3-hr glucose test (blargh!!).

26 week ultrasound

26 week ultrasound! This one isn't too bad, but for some reason, we've never gotten a great profile shot. The video we got from the 3D place has a bunch of places where I can freeze-frame and see a clearer shot, but for some reason, I'm having trouble doing the "Print Screen/Paste into Paint" thing to save it.

So, having gotten 2 separate confirmations that babet is a girl, I decided to order her bedding and a few decorative items! I got the 4 piece set of bedding, an extra blanket to put over the back of the chair we have in the room (though the chair is blue…I really need to figure out some way to make it not blue. Maybe I’ll get a bed sheet for a make-shift chair cover in either brown or pink.), 2 window valances, a mobile, a hamper, a vinyl for the wall, and a set of painted letters spelling out her name made by someone on Etsy that matches the bedding exactly! Plus! I got a call from USA Baby to tell me that her crib and dresser are in! I couldn’t believe it! They told me late Oct to early Nov! But, we’re still waiting on the hutch, so they’re holding the furniture for us till that comes in.

Bedding

Her bedding. You can also see the mobile, extra blanket (on the chair to the side), and window valance (I got 2, since her room has a double window). I so wish they still sold that lamp. I've searched, though, with no luck. Her crib will be dark brown, not white, though. Also a much different style. We're also going to just paint the wall a light pink - no elaborate moulding or anything like in the picture.

Hamper

This actually matches one of the other bedding choices I was deciding between, but it's close enough and so cute!

Wall vinyl

letters

This ISN'T her name, it's just the example to show the letters. We do have a name picked out though! Actually, it's been picked out since before she was conceived along with a boy name, which we'll save for a potential future son.

I can’t wait to see it all come together! And also, since I forgot to post one at 24 weeks, and although this is technically not strictly a “6 month” picture, here’s me at 26 weeks:

26 weeks

How Far Along: 26 weeks!
Baby’s Size: Baby is the
size of an eggplant/english hothouse cucumber and weighs about 1 lb 10.5 oz.
Maternity Clothes:
Yup. Discovered the wonders of dresses this week! Comfy!
Best Moment this week:
Since I skipped 25 weeks, we’ll have 2 here – 25 weeks: learning babet’s gender! 26 weeks: baby shower with family!
Gender:
GIRL!
Movement:
Yup, kicking and punching away in there!
Food Craving: Sandwiches…how I miss lunch meats. I could kill for a hoagie right now.
What I miss: Being comfy in bed.

Sleep:
Still not great because of hip pain and babet being stubborn to switch position when I do.
Belly Button: Still firmly an innie. It does seem a bit shallower, but still holding out hope that it’ll stay in!
What I am looking forward to: Babet’s nursery stuff arriving!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathleen
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 19:50:47

    How exciting!! It’s pretty cool what they can do now with the ultrasounds. It’s just so crazy when you finally see what is in your tummy!! 🙂 My BFF just gave birth to her baby girl last night. So everyone’s got the baby bug! Great photo of you by the way. You look like such a happy mommy! I bet Chris thinks you’re prettier than ever.

    Reply

    • sleepymel
      Sep 13, 2010 @ 21:49:39

      Aw, thanks! I agree about what ultrasounds can do now – it’s so amazing to see the baby before she’s born! Also, congrats to your friend! That’s so exciting! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Marcie
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 21:21:45

    I nearly didn’t survive this post due to the extreme cuteness! You look AWESOME and Mel Junior (MJ for short) totally looks like a chubby baby to me! I’m pretty jealous at all of the baby girl shopping you have ahead of you. Too fun!

    Reply

  3. chii-wey
    Sep 15, 2010 @ 22:23:07

    i bet the baby already has more clothes than chris! haha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

