22 weeks!

Blargh. I’m still feeling pretty bad, so this’ll probably just be a quick post. In addition to the tiredness of last week, I’ve been feeling pretty icky since the weekend. I’ve talked to the doctor about my symptoms and after answering “no” to all of the early labor symptom questions, we think I’ve just caught a bug or something. I’m keeping an eye on it, attempting to stay hydrated, and am probably going to do the BRAT (bananas, rice, applesauce, toast) diet for a few days, and try some Imodium (which I had no idea till today I could take during pregnancy, though that should hint to you what my main symptom is – lovely, huh? I love sharing.). Ugh, I just feel so run down though. I just don’t want to do anything but sit or lay down because when I walk my stomach feels so heavy and I get tired and ickier feeling. I feel decent, but a bit wiped when I’m resting. I think I may have also experienced my first Braxton Hicks contractions (practice contractions), but I’ve only had like 3 over the course of like 4 days, and it’s not painful at all, so no worries. Just feels a little weird. Though it could be a sign of dehydration, which is certainly possible in…my current state…ahem. So, I should drink more water.

I also had my hematology appointment today and it went well (apart from me being sent to the wrong office and then having to go find the right one). I was pleasantly surprised that they did the bulk of the lab work they needed to do right then and there, so I got instant gratification! I’m a worrier, so that was a huge plus for me. The longer I have to wait, the more I stew in negative thoughts. Plus the doctor was really nice and super helpful in explaining absolutely everything going through his head, which was good for me to hear. I like to hear reasons and real explanations rather than just “you’re fine, just trust me”. So basically, the doctor is pretty much positive my WBC count is purely related to pregnancy, as the ob/gyn suggested, and he said it’s quite common. He just wants to retest next month for one more comparative value to make sure it still looks normal, but he expects it will look fine. He also explained that the actual cells look completely normal and mature, which is a good thing, so that’s another big plus. As for my platelets, which I think I may have forgotten to mention last week (basically, my platelets are also slightly elevated, but they have been for as long as I’ve had bloodwork done (and the value has been consistent), which I showed the doctor today, plus my mom has the same thing. My doctors haven’t been concerned before, they’ve always just said it was “my normal”), he thinks that could possibly be iron deficiency, so they had to send one test away to test for that, but if that looks normal, he also thinks it’s “just me” (totally scientific terms there!). Just a tad on the higher end of the bell curve of non-worrisome values – he even assured me that my slightly higher value carries no added risk of anything like clots or really anything else. Again, we’ll retest in a month to make sure it’s not dramatically rising, but since it’s been stable since at least 2002 that I could prove (organized me brought my old results with me!), that would be highly unexpected. So, all in all, the end message was: I’m fine. We’ll retest to make sure, but basically I’m fine. If I’m fine again next time, as expected, case closed. So, I’m happy with that.

How Far Along: 22 weeks!
Baby’s Size: Baby is the
size of a spaghetti squash/papaya and weighs almost a pound!
Maternity Clothes:
Yup.
Best Moment this week:
Blargh, I dunno.
Gender:
Don’t know.
Movement:
Yup!
Food Craving: Nothing this week.
What I miss: The energy I had 2 weeks ago!

Sleep:
Bad. Hard to get comfortable.
Belly Button: Still firmly an innie.
What I am looking forward to: Feeling better?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christopher
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 13:51:44

    I was also quite impressed with Dr. Kuo. I could have sworn he was an engineer before med school, talking statistics, probability, and root cause analysis. I have never met a doctor who had an interest in statistics. His bedside manner was also excellent, taking the time to explain why he wasn’t concerned about things. All things considered, a very good appointment!

    Reply

  2. Marcie
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 20:09:55

    When you’re pregnant, your body suppresses your immune system significantly, I guess to keep it from fighting with your baby over retail space. So any little bug that wouldn’t normally phase you can really kick in and make things bad. I treated everyone like they had the plague while I was pregnant and only got sick due to illness once. I also tried to stay away from any foods that are known for the potential of sickness.

    I hope you feel better. *hugs* Water and rest are pretty much the only reason our boys weren’t born early. You want to be drinking enough so that when it exits, it’s about the same color as when it went in. I always kept a big bottle next to me, where ever I was, and just refilled it when it went empty. I also found that the drink powders you just pour in helped break up the monotony.

    The Ensure shakes with protein were also good on a sick stomach and at 300 cal a can, they were a great way to keep my calorie intake up while I wasn’t feeling well. I recommend an ice cold strawberry one, although the chocolate aren’t bad, either.

    I’m glad your appointment went well and everything is fine. We’ve had ok experiences with our hematology department, but some rather rough encounters with their lab techs. Telling us after you dig around in our baby’s arm with a needle that you don’t normally draw blood from kids isn’t cool.

    Reply

    • sleepymel
      Aug 18, 2010 @ 21:06:28

      I am actually feeling a bit better today, thankfully. The Imodium seems to have helped a lot and actually, forcing myself to move around a bit more than the complete vegging I wanted to do has helped a bit, too, with energy and the heavy tummy feeling. I’m definitely not pushing it, just making sure I get up and move around a bit during the day.
      Thanks for the advice, too. I know I don’t drink enough water. I have started carrying a bottle around with me though, so hopefully that will help. I was also doing the Ensure drinks earlier on for extra calories even when I was feeling fine, but they had a lot of carbs in them, so I steer clear of them now since the doctor told me to watch my sugar and carbs, even though I don’t technically have GD. I might ask my ob/gyn if I can drink Glucerna though – same thing I think, just made for people with blood sugar issues.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

