21 weeks!

Well, this week’s post is a bit later than normal. I’m just feeling super lazy and unmotivated this week. I’ve been a bit tired and my belleh’s been feeling really heavy, so I haven’t really wanted to do a whole lot, despite having lots of things that need to be done.

So first, we had another monthly appointment this week, which went well! Baby’s heart rate was measuring strong at 155 beats/min and this was the first time I had my stomach measured – it was measuring right on track. We also met a new doctor this time, Dr. Clarke, who was also really nice. She’s one of 2 new doctors at the practice, so I kinda took advantage of that and took the opportunity to ask her if I could have another quick ultrasound to get another shot at finding out the gender. She sounded hopeful at first, which makes me think that her previous practice might’ve been a bit more generous with ultrasounds, but after she asked for us, she told us we unfortunately couldn’t this week. But! She did say that we might be able to fudge a reason for one next week – namely my lack of weight gain. Which, on the one hand, I’m all for using that as a “fake excuse” because I know both she and the last doctor I met are not at all concerned at this point about it, since my stomach (as of this week) and the baby (as seen 2 weeks ago in the ultrasound) are measuring perfectly. And on the other hand, 3 weeks from now, it may not actually be such a silly idea just to check to make sure the baby’s still growing just fine anyway, especially if I still haven’t gained weight. So, though I’m not meeting with Dr. Clarke next time (Sept. 1), I will be sure to bring the idea up. So, crossing our fingers for another ultrasound then! I also briefly met another doctor outside the exam room, Dr. Sharawy – it wasn’t a proper introduction or anything (though I’m sure I’ll meet him at a future appointment), but he joined in our conversation about how they should swap out the icky glucose drink for a yummy high-sugar root beer from a place where Chris and I had lunch. He also suggested mashed potatoes, since the carbs can produce a similar result. Anyway, he seemed nice too, which was a relief because I was a bit nervous about the male doctor(s) – I think the doctor I’m meeting next time is a guy, too.

I’ve also got an appointment with a hematologist next week because my white blood cells were running just a tad high (2 points above what I guess they normally see – nothing ridiculous). My doctor was quick to assure me that WBCs do sometimes run a bit higher in pregnancy, so she’s almost positive that’s all it is, but she just wants to be sure – if it were to be anything else, it would be a minor infection, nothing scary. I also looked it up on WebMD (because I’m neurotic) and they had a chart that confirmed that WBCs run higher in pregnancy and that actually, my value was WELL within normal range for 2nd trimester (I also found the same chart on Quest Diagnostics’ website, and they do tons of blood work stuff). So, I’m really not worried. And that is saying a lot, coming from me. I worry about everything.

And that’s about it, baby-wise. As I mentioned, it just seems like there’s so much to do, so I thought I’d make a list – maybe to kind of create a sense of “I need to get this done” for myself.

1. Clean out the garage – Embarrassingly enough, we still have several unpacked boxes (6 months after moving in…) in the garage. It clearly isn’t stuff we need on a regular basis (like Christmas decorations), but I know there’s some tools and electronics out there that used to have a home inside our old house, but we don’t have a tool closet anymore or an office closet (our current office is a large bonus room without a closet, the guest bedroom closet is practically full already, and the nursery closet is obviously out), so I don’t know where to put it all. It would be nice to find the power drill though (not that I haven’t looked for it. I have no idea where it is) – we have a few curtains still to hang in the house. We also have a stack of flat boxes and 3 huge boxes full of packing paper that need to be trashed. The boxes apparently have to be cut down to 3×3 to be put out with the recycling, which neither of us wants to do, and the huge boxes full of packing paper probably could go out with a scheduled bulky item pick up, except that they’re cardboard and bulky item pickup doesn’t take cardboard. And finally, there’s a pile of stuff that we can’t use anymore for various reasons (extra microwave – we have a built in one now, over toilet storage cabinet – no suitable over toilet areas, old CD racks, 3 huge boxes of clothing to donate/sell, etc). I just don’t know what to do with it all – even if I just decide to donate a bunch of it, I don’t know how to get it to the Goodwill (which is actually quite close, but my car is tiny! I’d need to make about 40 trips!). Not to mention, the garage is full of the bane of my existence – spiders. I don’t even want to touch the boxes, lest all the inhabitant spiders come out and consume me. <shudder> But it really has to be done. Chris and I are trading cars in December, and a) it would be nice if we could both park inside and b) even if that doesn’t quite happen, I need to be able to fit his longer car in the garage so he can take my car to work everyday without me having to move his car everyday, and right now I don’t think it would fit. I guess we could both park outside, but that really isn’t ideal. The goal is to get us both inside.

2. Prepping the nursery. There’s not much I can do decor-wise right now – that has to wait till a) we find out the gender (at which point I just need to order a few things already picked out) and b) the nursery furniture arrives in Oct/Nov. So for now, this really just leaves relocating a few small pieces of furniture to the guest room and the walls. Again, Chris can’t paint till we know the gender, but there’s an ugly border that needs to come down, regardless of gender – it’s kind of an old grandma-y floral border. I have the tools I think, but I’ve never removed wallpaper so I’m not sure exactly how it’s done, and I’m not sure I should be teetering around on a ladder while pregnant. On the upside, we did manage to get a little cubby storage unit put together and installed in the closet last weekend, so that’s one thing done!

3. Landscaping. There isn’t much here to be done, but it isn’t anything either of us can do ourselves. I need to call a landscaper to get a quote on fixing/cutting down a few large almost fallen but not broken trees that are somehow growing horizontally in our back yard and fixing up the area around our mailbox (out of control vine, 2 large dead bushes, and a largeish expanse of nothing that is just prone to weeds). I guess this isn’t really too hard – I just need to call someone. But that would require me to call someone. I hate phones and I’m really not a people person – I’m shy and I just get nervous and awkward around people. I guess I just need to suck it up.

I’m sure there’s more. My mind was racing with stuff to do last night. Now just to get it all done…

How Far Along: 21 weeks!
Baby’s Size: I’m replacing “Weight Gain” with this new category. Baby’s growth is all that’s important. I’ll add in my own actual values if I get them (like at the ultrasound at 18.5 weeks, the baby was around 9 oz, I think), but mostly I’ll just use what the little emails I get from BabyCenter and The Bump tell me. This week, baby is the length of a carrot
/banana and weighs about 12 oz!
Maternity Clothes:
Yup.
Best Moment this week:
Just spending time with Chris.
Gender:
Don’t know.
Movement:
Yup! Baby’s moving around a lot, which is still really nice to feel. I tried a few times this week to get Chris to feel it, because I could feel it with my hand from the outside, but he still hasn’t felt it. Most of the time, the baby just stops moving when I want him to feel it. Baby’s being funny again.
Food Craving: Sweet stuff – of course. Crave what you can’t have!
What I miss: Not checking carbs and sugars on nutrition labels.

Sleep:
Meh. Scary baby dreams this week – mostly about the baby being really really tiny (like the size of my pinkie) and having trouble breastfeeding.
Belly Button: Still firmly an innie.
What I am looking forward to: Nothing specifically this week, but maybe getting another ultrasound next month!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chii-wey
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 20:40:13

    two words: yard sale!!!!

    Reply

    • sleepymel
      Aug 12, 2010 @ 14:39:05

      I would love to have a yard sale. We unfortunately missed the neighborhood organized one, but I’ll have to look into whether or not we can have our own.

      Reply

  2. Becky Lane
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 22:45:21

    I must have missed something. From the comment about icky glucose drink, I’m guessing they want to test you for gestational diabetes or something?

    Reply

    • sleepymel
      Aug 12, 2010 @ 14:43:13

      Well, yes and no. I was already tested (early, because my dad has diabetes) with both the 1 hr and 3 hr tests, and basically passed – I had one abnormal result out of 3, so I just have to watch what I eat. They also want to test me again at 28 weeks (ick).
      As for the comment this week, Chris and I had lunch before the appointment and I noticed that my root beer had almost as much sugar in it as the 1 hr glucose drink, so Chris just mentioned it on our way out to the doctor as a joke and the other doctor joined in on the conversation. I guess they get a lot of recommendations for replacing the icky drink!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

