18 weeks!

So the appointment yesterday went well overall. I don’t have the results of the glucose test yet, but the ultrasound was great!! The technician said that everything looked normal and healthy to her, so I’m hugely relieved! It was so amazing to see body parts – the spine, hands and feet, leg and arm bones, the head and heart! The heart rate was 150 beats/min this time and the estimated weight is about 9 oz, which is right on track for where I’m supposed to be in the pregnancy. That was also a relief considering my lack of weight gain!  It was so nice to sit and watch our baby for so long! Babet was really moving around a lot, which surprised Chris, since I’ve only just started to feel the baby. He couldn’t believe I don’t feel it all the time! It was kind of funny though – the amount of movement hinted to us that we’re in store for a little Christopher in terms of energy. He was always the kid with tons of energy, running away from his parents (unless he was on a leash, lol).

Babet at 18.5 weeks!

Babet at 18.5 weeks!

Babet at 18.5 weeks! Ok, honestly, these aren't the best pictures. We saw so much more, much more clearly, during the ultrasound. I think the tech chose to print these because of the face (which I think is facing us near the word face). Otherwise, I can't really make a whole lot out...I think the straight line near the middle of each picture is an arm, so that the baby is tucking his/her arms under his/her chin.

The one slight disappointment (and really only slight because mainly I was just so happy to hear that everything looked normal) was that baby was quite stubborn about not showing us his or her gender at all. Which we really wanted to know. But those legs stayed crossed and occasionally the hands went down to cover the area too, so the tech really had no guess. They did give us a brochure for a place nearby that does those 3D/4D ultrasounds (which Chris thinks are creepy, haha), so I’ll look into it, but basically I’m just afraid we’ll plunk down the $100 for a 15 minute appointment and baby will be shy again! Maybe if they have some sort of “if you don’t see it this time, we’ll have you come back another time” guarantee, but I’m kinda doubting it. Otherwise, I’m not expected to have another ultrasound if the pregnancy is uneventful. They did say that sometimes if the baby has hiccups during the fetal heartbeat check they’ll send you over for a quick ultrasound, but I can’t really expect that’ll definitely happen. And again, if I do turn out to have gestational diabetes, I’ve heard they check the size at least once near the end, so I guess that’s something too, but again, I’m really hoping I DON’T have gestational diabetes.

But really, I guess it doesn’t matter too much if it turns out to be a surprise. I mainly just wanted to find out earlier so that I could plan the nursery. I had somewhat specific ideas for a boy and a girl that definitely don’t overlap (well, I suppose my boy idea could be used for a girl maybe, but I don’t want it to. Also, I’m not a fan of yellow and I only might use green as a main color in my boy room idea.) and I would’ve liked to get those plans into motion before the baby arrived so that everything was ready for him or her. I guess the thing is though, that we’ll probably keep the baby in our room for a short time anyway, so I guess I could just order bedding and miscellaneous decor right after the baby comes – maybe get a few basic solid color sheets if I need to beforehand (though I don’t know what color). But I wanted to have Chris paint the room, too…I think I’ve read about newer fume-free, nursery-safe paint. I guess it’s just a matter of if he’ll have time for it. I’d also planned on choosing my specific crib style based on the gender too. We’ve decided on Munire (thanks for the recommendation, Amal!) because of the high quality and hardwood content (not that blasted soft pine!!), but we don’t know whether we want the Majestic or the Newport. My family all preferred the Newport style because of the curved back which I really like too, but I worried it might be too feminine for a boy with the roundish feet, and I was actually leaning towards the Majestic (which does actually have an option to have the curved top too, if I wanted, but I was actually drawn to the straight back), so basically my dad suggested that I get the Majestic if it’s a boy and the Newport if it’s a girl, which I thought was a good idea. So, now I don’t know what to do. I think we need to order that soon, since the store said that sometimes it can take a while for furniture to come in – and specifically, the Majestic isn’t shipping at all until October/November (though Munire told me over the phone we’d definitely get it in time), so we’d need to get that order in very soon if we want it before the baby came.

Also, clothing. Where the heck do they sell gender neutral clothing?? I feel like I’ve bought it all. And I only have about 5 onesies/shirts, 3 of which are from vacation spots. I’ve looked at Target, Walmart, and Carter’s. The 2 gender neutral onesies I bought here are from Carter’s – a frog design and a duck design. I could find nothing else! Everything is very boy with blue and dinosaurs or trucks or very girl with pink and hearts or flowers. Soo…unless I buy a truckload of plain white onesies (and how boring is that??), babet will also have no clothing until after he or she arrives. At which point, what, do I send out Chris to buy clothing from Target, so we can dress our baby past our first day home?

Hm, I kinda sound like I’m complaining too much, aren’t I? Really, I’m so happy that everything looks healthy with babet, so ultimately the bedding/paint/decor and cute clothing don’t matter. It’ll get done when it gets done. I’m sure we’ll work around it – plenty of people do. I know I have a lot to be thankful for, so I am. Let’s just leave it at that. 🙂

How Far Along: 18 weeks!
Total Weight Gain/Loss: Still down.

Maternity Clothes:
Yup.
Best Moment this week:
Seeing a healthy babet moving around on the ultrasound!
Gender:
<grumble, grumble>
Movement:
Yup!
Food Craving:
Nothing specific again.
What I miss: Hawaii?

Sleep:
Meh.
Belly Button: Still firmly an innie.
What I am looking forward to: Feeling bigger movements!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marcie
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 20:36:07

    It’s great to hear that the baby is doing well. I don’t think I could take the suspense of not knowing what we were having.

    I will warn you that at this far along, a 3D ultrasound isn’t going to show you a cute, cuddly baby. They look like they might be from the 2D ones, but trust me. It’s a skinny alien in there right now, with crazy eye bulges. You’d have to be pretty far along before you see anything resembling something you’d want to take home.

    Here’s a link to our pictures from 17.5wks so you can see what I mean…
    http://jmaandb.blogspot.com/2009/01/week-185.html

    I thought that the 3D ultrasound places DID guarantee that you’d get to see the gender. I haven’t tried one myself, but I was under that impression.

    I started putting together our nursery before we knew what we were having (like even before we knew there was 2 in there!). I went with gender neutral stuff because I thought I could use the same stuff for all of our kids. A few things I learned was

    1) You don’t really need a matching set of anything. The quilt and bumpers are SIDS hazards. I should have really just bought some cute mattress sheets and wall pictures. Instead I wasted a bunch of money so everything matched.

    2) What’s cute online isn’t always cute in person. I kept and used the stuff I bought, but I think it’s ugly. Any new baby will end up with new nursery stuff.

    Carter’s also has a zoo animal and mommy/baby animal designs that are gender neutral. The other thing to look for (with Carter’s) is every year they revamp their patterns and designs. So last year’s froggies won’t look like this year’s. They might be the same shape, but in a different color or pattern. We got a lot of hand-me-down clothes like that. I’d check out consignment sales and stores for previous year’s versions.

    I’d also watch out for Gerber stuff. It all runs about a size small (i.e. 3-6mo actually fits a 0-3mo baby). We’ve been happiest with Carter’s but Granimals (from Wal-Mart) are our second favorite. There’s a Carter’s outlet store in Gaffney and I can email you 20% coupons anytime if you want.

    😀

    Reply

  2. chii-wey
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 21:13:14

    no gender neutral stuff!! i can only buy pink or blue!!! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

