11 weeks!

NOTE: POST WRITTEN 6/5/10

Well, Disney World went really well! I’m happy to say that, whether it was the adrenaline of going on a trip or just improving symptoms, I actually felt pretty good most of the trip! It was a different trip from most – we chose to do only quick service dining (except for our anniversary meal), I was much slower walking around and had to take frequent sitting and bathroom breaks, I actually napped for at least an hour most afternoons, and obviously there were a number of rides I couldn’t go on – but, we still both had a great time. I’m sad it’s over. And this time, I’m pretty sure we really won’t be back for a couple years. 😦 I just don’t see the point of bringing a baby.

Anyway, as I mentioned, I felt pretty good. The first day, I was good for most of the day, but since I only got a few hours sleep the night before, I was exhausted pretty early, so we actually skipped the Wishes fireworks that night (blasphemy!! I love the Magic Kingdom fireworks!!) and went to bed early. And on our last full day, I don’t know if it was just exhaustion from the trip or, how shall I put this…my bathroom adventure earlier in the day…but, I was feeling a bit off that last night. I walked even slower (and even considered a wheel chair) and we ended up sharing dinner in Epcot’s Morocco that night because I just wasn’t sure I was up to eating much (though I’m pretty sure I did end up eating half, sorry Chris!). Most days, I was pretty good though. I typically only ate about half of each meal before feeling full, but that’s a huge improvement over what I’ve been doing in the past 6 weeks or so, so I’ll take it! I did have to be a bit picky over what I ate – no lunch meats or hot dogs (though I did sneak in one root beer float, even though I’ve heard soft serve ice cream isn’t recommended – I figured one won’t hurt, not to mention I only ate about half. (EDIT: my doctor has since given me the ok to have milkshakes and a bunch of Chris’s work friends are shocked I’ve been avoiding them saying, “What’s a pregnancy without milkshakes?”), but I still found a good variety at the quick service locations. We tried some places we’d never been to before. And our anniversary dinner (3 years!!) was fantastic. We went to Jiko, an African restaurant at the Animal Kingdom Lodge (which was pretty cool, by the way! Animals in the back yard!!). The food was amazing. We shared a kalamata olive/goat cheese (pasteurized, so it’s ok!) flat bread for an appetizer, then I had a seasonal green salad with peach vinaigrette dressing/goat cheese/candied nut salad and Chris had an amazingly good asparagus soup. For the main course, I had the oak grilled filet mignon and Chris had the roasted lamb loin in a red curry sauce and for desert, we shared the pistachio creme brulee with a chocolate layered bottom. There wasn’t one part of the meal we didn’t like.

I also mentioned the slower pace – it was actually nice to just stroll around for once, instead of our usual break-neck speed. Better on my feet, too. That plus the fact that I actually brought sneakers this time got me around pretty well. No swollen ankles or sore feet! It really helped to not have to get fast passes or wait in long lines for the big-ticket rides like rollercoasters and stuff. Chris did go on Thunder Mountain and thought about going on a few other rides, but for the most part, we were happy to stick to the tamer rides since they really do make up a big portion of Disney World. While I love the exciting rides, particularly Everest and Tower of Terror, I didn’t feel bad about skipping them this time. I think the only park that was kind of a bust was Animal Kingdom – we normally only go on a few rides there anyway, and I couldn’t go on any of them this time, so we figured we’d just do the walking trails and check out the Conservation Station area. It was nice to check out an area I hadn’t been to, but the gorilla walking trail had practically no animals out (maybe too hot out?), so we skipped the other walking trail. Plus it was just so hot that morning that we skipped the Festival of the Lion King and just cut the first half of the day short. But the other parks all seemed to work out pretty well and we had plenty to do.

I think we’ve decided to forgo summer Disney vacations from now on though (I guess until other times are completely undoable thanks to school). It was just so hot the whole time we were there. Plus we had some pretty heavy rains, too. Not as frequent as on our last trip, and we had our ponchos, so we were fine, but gah, summer rain seems to be much more violent and heavy. We had meant to try to get back to the buses before or during the Illuminations fireworks show one night at Epcot, but there was a super thunderstorm going on (during the fireworks, which apparently decided to go on despite the weather and the lack of audience) so we had to hole up till it let up. I hate leaving right after the fireworks – everyone mobs the buses and it takes forever to get home in your sardine packed bus. Ugh, mentioning buses, on the second night, I was on my first bus ride with a puker. I’m not sure I’ve mentioned in on here before, but I have a bit of a vomit phobia. If I hear or see someone vomit, I get an intense instinct to run. And when I can’t run because I’m on a tightly packed bus, I get angry. Tear-filled-eyes-, freaked-out-, profanity-thought-filled-, desire-to-yell-at-and-shame-whoever-puked angry (good God, I’m going to be a terrible mother. I pray I’ll be different with my kid because it’s my kid). Anyway…I just think I much prefer the cooler temperatures and smaller crowds of the late winter. Although, I really would like to try to go around Christmas sometime. I just have to see the decorations! AND HEY!!!! GOING TO HAVE A CHRISTMAS BABY!!! Which totally means we can bring him or her for a birthday!! Though, I’d say not till 3, maybe 2, we’ll have to see what our kid is like.

Us in It's a Small World

Us in It's a Small World

Us at Animal Kingdom

Us at Animal Kingdom

Us at DHS

Us at DHS

Us at Epcot

Us at Epcot

Our anniversary dinner at Jiko

Our anniversary dinner at Jiko

If you want to see pictures from the rest of the trip (including our usual Where’s Waldo shots, lol), just go here!

How Far Along: 11 weeks!
Total Weight Gain/Loss: No change from last week, despite going on vacation.
Though I guess, it’s a very walking-heavy vacation.
Maternity Clothes:
Still no true maternity clothes, but I picked up a few pairs of stretchy yoga capri things from Walmart and they’re so comfy!
Best Moment this week: M
y 3 year anniversary with my wonderful husband at DISNEY WORLD! 🙂
Gender: Still no idea.
Which sucks, cause there’s so much cute baby stuff at Disney World! But most of it is gender specific. We did get a cute light green onesie, though, with the Finding Nemo seagulls on it saying “Mine, mine, mine”.
Movement:
Nope, too early.
Food Craving:
Not many cravings this week. The appetite was a bit better though!
What I miss:
Sleeping comfortably. Gah, particularly in smallish beds – that double at our hotel was torture!
Sleep:
A bit worse this week thanks to the tiny bed.
Belly Button: Still firmly an innie.
What I am looking forward to: My 12 week appointment!!

Leave a Reply

