8 weeks

NOTE: THIS POST WAS WRITTEN 5/6/10

Sorry I missed a week there. Blech. After my little edit in the last weekly post, things went downhill. I had about 4 days where I just couldn’t eat or drink anything. It all looked disgusting, I wasn’t hungry, and I felt pretty miserable. I did manage to eat a small dinner when we went out with some nearby relatives, and I’m not entirely sure why because prior to going out, I wasn’t sure I’d make it (not to mention I couldn’t even tell them I was feeling sick because the pregnancy is still a secret!). Anyway, Monday morning I decided to call up the ob/gyn and see what I could do since I was barely eating. They called in a prescription for me for morning sickness, and oh my, it’s wonderful. I try to take it as infrequently as possible, but it seems I’m still taking about 1 a day (technically, I could take one every 4 hours if I needed it), though I have had a day or 2 I’ve gone without.

Last weekend, we went to visit Chris’s parents, not mentioning the pregnancy since I wasn’t ready to tell yet (I still worry I could be completely imagining it!). It was fun, but it was also difficult 1) not telling them, because again, I just wanted to blurt it out and 2) acting like everything was normal. Despite the medicine, I’m still not 100% and I’m still pretty picky with my food, so trying to eat normally was a challenge. I had a meal or 2 I barely put a dent into and felt terrible about, but I couldn’t say why! Luckily, I felt perfectly fine for the TSO concert, so I was able to enjoy that completely. I did kind of wonder if the baby was vibrating with the music though! Even if he/she can’t hear yet, maybe the vibrations will teach him/her to love TSO! Haha. And speaking of TSO, I think I’ve found my first unexplained pregnancy emotion – I cannot listen to their song, Believe, without crying. I was listening to Night Castle last week in my car in prep for the show (though they only played a song or 2 from that album) and Believe came on and I just started crying. And couldn’t stop! I cried again at the concert. The weird thing is, I’m not a terribly religious person. I mean, I have my beliefs, but I’ve never been to a church I’ve felt like I belonged at and I’m just not sure church is for me. And this song is pretty religious. And I guess for some reason, it’s just what I need to hear. I dunno. It’s weird.

Anyway, the return flight was a bit of a challenge. I wasn’t feeling well thanks to trying to eat too much for lunch and I only had one pill left from my prescription (they only give me 12 at a time) and wouldn’t be able to get a refill till the next day, so I was trying to save it for the next morning, so I could feel well enough to do some errands, including picking up the refill. Plus, and here’s where you may want to stop reading for a moment thanks to TMI, the medicine is apparently famous for having the unfortunate side effect of constipation, and boy, was I, so that was making me feel worse. That was a miserable night.

Ok, you can start reading again if you stopped. Anyway, since returning home, I’m doing a bit better again on the nausea front, but still pretty picky with food. I’ve been a bit concerned with this weird sensation I’m having in my left mid abdomen. I was a bit worried because I’ve heard of your insides stretching to accommodate pregnancy, but it’s only been on the left, so I was a bit worried about ectopic pregnancy. But I think the sensation’s too high, so my best guess is that it has something to do with my slow moving intestines. I’ll find out Monday. Which, Monday!! My first ultrasound!! I’m so excited. I’m really hopeful of course that everything will look normal, but I’m also hoping we’ll get to see the heartbeat. The receptionist said she couldn’t promise anything, but it seems like a lot of women in my birth club on BabyCenter have been seeing the heartbeat around the same time. Plus, if all goes well, that’ll be the day we can finally tell our parents and siblings!! I’m still struggling with how to tell them. I still wish I could do it in person, but since that’s not possible, I’m torn between just calling and saying it, or calling and asking them to check their email, where there will be a picture of the ultrasound waiting for them. It just seems that no matter how I think it out, I can’t figure out how to get my parents both on the phone at the same time without worrying them or spoiling the surprise before I can even say anything. With Chris’s parents, it won’t be as hard because they go on speakerphone a lot so they can both talk, so that won’t be weird to request. I dunno. I guess it doesn’t matter how we tell them, but I kinda wanted it to be special and at least tell each set of parents together. I hate to tell one parent and then have to wait for the other one to get on the phone and have the other have to not say anything or have one parent tell the other – I want to tell them both and hear their reactions! Bah, I guess we’ll figure it out.

Anyway, I’ve seen this little weekly questionnaire on a few baby blogs I read, so I thought I’d do it, too!

How Far Along: 8 weeks!
Total Weight Gain/Loss: I think I’ve lost at least 5 pounds so far. But I guess that’s ok…I’ve read you don’t really put on much weight in the first trimester.

Maternity Clothes:
Not yet, but my pants are a bit tight. I did get a little belt extender thing, which seems to help. Luckily, I own a lot of empire waist shirts, so I think I can work those for a while. I’m also starting out heavier, so I kind of wonder what that means for my showing. I hope I eventually look pregnant and not just extra fat.
Best Moment this week: The concert! I know it has nothing to do with my pregnancy, but my pregnancy hasn’t really had  a best moment this week, haha.

Gender: No idea. Not even a feeling.

Movement:
Nope, too early.
Food Craving:
Not much. My appetite has been gone. But what I have been able to stomach has been soup, Chef Boyardee, grilled cheese, and PB sandwiches.
What I miss:
Not being nauseous.
Sleep:
Meh. Once I’m asleep, I’m good, but it’s been difficult falling asleep thanks to the nausea.
Belly Button: Still firmly an innie. Both Chris and I really hope it won’t pop…eugh.
What I am looking forward to: First ultrasound on Monday!!! I can’t wait to see the baby!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mama
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 18:00:33

    Trust me, it will pop.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

