OMG

NOTE: POST WRITTEN 4/12/10

Well, even though I won’t post these for months most likely, I did want to chronicle the experience, so here goes:
Well, today I found out I’m pregnant. I can’t even believe I’m typing that. We’ve only been trying a few months and I was sure it would take forever. Oddly enough, last month I thought for sure I was pregnant – I felt tired and nauseous. But maybe it was just move-in tiredness or big life change symptoms or something because I tested last month and got a negative, and as if to add insult to injury, my period arrived later that day. It was early in our attempts, but I was still pretty upset. This month, I was postive I wasn’t. I just didn’t feel it.

But today, I took a test just for the hell of it (and because I wanted to know if I was safe to take an Advil for a headache I had), and looked at the test, fully expecting another negative, but there it was: “pregnant”. I stared at it a minute, in disbelief, and took it downstairs where Chris was waiting for dinner. I’m lucky I tested later in the day. I know you’re usually supposed to test in the morning because that’s when the hormones are supposed to be most concentrated and most easily detectable, but I would’ve been too antsy to wait all day to tell him. Anyway, I walked into the family room, not able to say anything, and handed the test to Chris. I immediately started crying (happy tears) and he looked and said “preggers!” and got up and hugged me. Then he said, “ew, you peed on this”. Lol. Through the next hour, I was really distracted and kept looking back at the test, as if expecting it to suddenly add the word “not” and maybe “just kidding, lol”, but it remained “pregnant”.
So, I really need to find a ob/gyn now. I hate to get myself all excited until a doctor confirms it. But it’s hard. I’m pretty sure we’re having a baby!! My head is filled with baby thoughts, baby activities, baby furniture, baby clothing (oh the clothing…), baby names…I need to stop. One thing at a time… πŸ™‚

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mama
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 15:25:06

    Happy, happy, joy, joy!

    Reply

  2. Marcie
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 21:09:40

    The “baby thoughts” never go away. πŸ˜‰ We’re SO excited for you guys and are seriously impressed at how long you kept it a secret. I think I lasted like a week or something. πŸ˜€

    Reply

  3. Molly
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 13:50:28

    This is so exciting, Mel! I can’t imagine what that feeling must be like to see “Pregnant” appear on the test! Enjoy, and I hope to see you and your baby bump soon. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

