Disney Trip Shirts!

According to my Disney trip ticker, we’re 1 month, 1 week, and 3 days away from our trip!! Squeee! 😀 So, this week, I decided to make the personalized shirts I mentioned earlier for it! For materials, I shopped at Hobby Lobby, AC Moore, and Target. I got:

– cheap blank t-shirts (some long sleeve and some short) in black and gray. I actually needed to make 2 trips for these. After I washed the first blank shirts, some of them shrunk quite a bit, despite drying them on a low heat, so we needed bigger sizes.

–  light shirt iron-on transfers (intended for the gray shirts, but only used on 2 shirts because they were turning out too transparent). One note here – I tried Printworks and Transfermations brands – Printworks was much better in terms of printing the designs. The Transfermations paper jammed every time. As for wear (fading, cracking, etc.) I have no idea yet.

– dark shirt iron-on transfers (I tried both above brands here too – I didn’t notice a difference this time, either in printing or ironing, but again, still don’t know as far as wear is concerned.)

– a cardboard t-shirt form

– a cheap iron (I left our better one at home. Hahaha, like I iron things anyway!)

– sticky Mickey head patches to sew onto the sleeves (like Champion shirts, lol)

I also used a cookie tray at some points because I didn’t have a flat/hard enough surface to iron on (not supposed to apply the iron-ons on the ironing board, and while the cardboard form was useful in centering iron-ons, it was leaving ridges in the print, so I needed something solid).

Because I’m not terribly good at creating decent patterns myself using only MS Paint, I got my patterns online at Disboards.com (there’s so many helpful and fun forums there, but I looked in the Creative DISigns forum specifically). I did have to make a few alterations to a couple designs (adding names and stuff), but most of the hard work was done by the lovely people on the forum.

So, without further ado, here’s the finished products!

Shirt 1 Front

Shirt 1 - Baby Mickey and Minnie, customized with our names and year of our trip! So cute! Mine is long sleeved and Chris's is short sleeved. Done on dark transfers. Slight boo-boo on the top of this one (mine) and Chris's got a little burned, but we'll just call it "aged", lol (his shirt was 50/50 cotton/poly while mine was 100% cotton - the iron-ons said ok to use with 50/50, but I guess you have to shorten the time you iron, which it didn't say).

Shirt 2 Backs

Shirt 1 - Little Mickey heads on the backs. Chris's is red and black mini Mickey heads and mine is red and pink hearts. Done on dark transfers.

Shirt 2 Front Chris

Shirt 2 - Chris - Personalized Mickey name on left chest. Used a light transfer for this - Mickey's a bit too transparent for my liking, but overall, still cute. If we had done it on dark transfers, the background behind the name and within the Mickey head would have been white, which I'm not sure would have looked that great. I wanted the background to be clear, but I wanted the Mickey to be vibrant, too. Oh well. Guess you can't have both!

Shirt 2 Front Mel

Shirt 2 - Mel - Personalized Minnie name on left chest. Used a light transfer for this, like Chris's.

Shirt 2 Backs

Shirt 2 - Little Mickey heads on the backs. Chris's is red and black stars and Mickey heads and mine is red and white polka dot. On dark transfers.

Shirt 3 Front Chris

Shirt 3 - Chris - Personalized Mickey head with Mickey on the side. On dark transfer.

Shirt 3 Front Mel

Shirt 3 - Mel - Personalized Mickey head with Minnie on the side. Done on dark transfer.

Shirt 3 Backs

Shirt 3 - Little Mickey heads on the backs. Chris's is a blue starry pattern and mine is a pink and white swirly flowery pattern. Done on dark transfers.

Ta-da! Haha, well, I’m pretty happy with how they turned out, especially for my first iron-on experience. I did have a few errors, like the uneven top on that first shirt – I think I must’ve pulled up on the shirt somehow in the middle of ironing it, and slightly singing Chris’s version (which isn’t pictured) – but I’m not sure I could’ve known about that one. I followed the directions exactly. Also, I think a few might be slightly off-center or tilted, but I don’t think it’s too noticeable.  I can’t wait till we get to wear them at Disney World! 😀

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marcie
    Dec 20, 2009 @ 22:23:30

    Those are fantastic! Hope you don’t mind – I shared this with my Disney fanatic cousin.

    😀

    Reply

  2. sleepymel
    Dec 20, 2009 @ 23:26:10

    Thanks!! And I totally don’t mind – every family needs a Disney fanatic! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

