Naples

Chris and I just got back from our trip to Naples. We went for 5 days and it was a lot of fun. It was nice to see my family again.

While we were there, we did a few fun activities I thought I’d blog about. On the second day, we rented a boat and my dad gave us a ride all around the canals and bay (bay? just ocean? I’m not sure what it was). We saw a bunch of pelicans, seagulls, a dog beach, and even a manatee (I think – all I saw was a big brownish blob near our boat, presumably going back into the water after coming up for air. I did hear a poof of air before I saw it, which is what made me turn my head towards it.)! We stopped shortly at a beach, but couldn’t stay long because we couldn’t really figure out how to anchor our boat. The ride was really nice – there was a good breeze, it wasn’t too hot, and the area was really pretty. I did end up getting burnt though. I made sure Chris put on his sunblock, but I foolishly thought I’d be fine. I got pretty red. I’m starting to peel now.

My family - my dad and mom in the back, my sister and Chris in the front.

On the third day, we went on an airboat ride. My parents take everyone who visits on an airboat ride and it’s a lot of fun. This time, Chris and I got to sit up front (last time, I sat in the back row, I think) and it was so much fun. When the driver goes fast, it feels like you’re flying – even more so if birds take off in front of you. I think that’s my favorite part.  Turns are a bit weird because you feel like you might fall off and you get sprayed with water, but that’s all part of the fun. Also, I was wearing a windbreaker during the ride, which I had to hold shut because if I let go, it blew up like a balloon and made me feel like I might just be carried off. It was pretty funny. Anyway, the water is really low this time of year, so we didn’t see very many alligators, but the scenery is beautiful and it’s pretty cool to see any alligators up close. Once we got back to the starting area, we got to see some baby alligators. Very cute.

They were suprisingly soft, actually. We did have to be careful though. Even though theyre small, they could still bite you.

They were suprisingly soft, actually. We did have to be careful though. Even though they're small, they could still bite you.

We also went to a lot of really good restaurants in the area. On one night in downtown Naples, we walked around, window shopping, and we saw 2 Ferraris! One was gray and one red. Mmmm. I wanted to steal the gray one. Also, one afternoon we drove around and looked at all the huge houses on the shore area. Some of them are ridiculous. I wonder what it’s like to live in them.

Anyway, it was a nice little vacation. We had a lot of fun, from the boat rides to playing Cranium. If my parents are reading, thanks for having us down to visit!! 🙂 Also, come visit us soon! 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. chii-wey
    Jun 14, 2009 @ 13:29:48

    you’re a spitting image of your sister, or vice versa!!! ok, now that i’ve stumbled upon your OTHER blog, i’ll be following for sure! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

