Learning to knit and crochet

So, I’ve decided to take up a hobby to take up some of my free time. I’ve recently been into drawing and crafty things like scrapbooking (though my wedding scrapbook is still not done), so I thought I’d try knitting and crocheting. I vaguely remember learning knitting in elementary school (we made a very simple little stuffed sheep), so I hoped it might come back to me with the help of Knitting and Crocheting for Dummies!

So far, I’ve had mixed results. Here are my products so far:

Knitting

Knitting

This is regular knitting. I don’t think this actually looks too bad for a first time. There’s a few holes you can see, but otherwise, I was able to do it pretty quickly and it seemed to flow pretty well. It did hurt my fingers a bit and I kind of wondered if I was making the stitches too tight. Once I tried purling, I failed miserably. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong, I think it’s just supposed to be opposite actions of knitting sort of, but I just couldn’t get it to work. The loops just kept falling off. So, that’s disappointing, because I’m not sure I’ll be able to do any real patterns without knowing how to purl.

Single crochet

Single crochet

This is my sad attempt at single crochet. It’s the smallest of the crochet stitches that my book shows and that gave me some trouble (maybe the dark thread also wasn’t a good choice?) because basically, I couldn’t keep track of where my hook needed to go for each next stitch. All the thread is so dark and close together, I can’t really see the stitches well. And obviously I missed some stitches in each row in order to make this get smaller toward the top. This was the first stitch I tried though and I think I got better with the others, so maybe I just need to go back and try it again with a lighter thread.

Double crochet

Double crochet

This is my double crochet. It’s a bit looser, so I think I did a much better job with it. I could see where the stitches needed to go and I actually got the process flowing pretty well here. I think my only problem may lie in “turning my work” before starting a new row because I can’t really tell the “right” side from the “wrong side”. They kind of look the same, with an alternating pattern as the rows go up, so I’m thinking I’m not turning it properly. The book is kind of confusing here though because it just tells me to turn my work toward me, which I thought I was doing. I’m not sure how else I can turn it.

Triple crochet

Triple crochet

This is my triple crochet. I think this one actually came out quite well. I think I may still be having the “turn your work” problem, but the stitches seem to look pretty uniform to me and the process was flowing nicely, so I think I at least got the hang of the stitches.

So that’s what I’ve made so far. They’re just test swatches, but I suppose I could also say I’ve got a bookmark, a tiny doll skirt, and 2 coasters, haha! I hope I can keep making progress with learning this because there’s some really cute stuff I could make, like scarves, bags, and Amigurumi dolls.

A tiny elephant

A tiny elephant

A really cute bag

A really cute bag

Interestingly, these are listed as “easy” and “advanced beginner,” respectively. I feel like I’m a long way from making those…but I do think I’m going to try a really simple lion:

Leave a Reply

