Snow in the South

Well, it snowed. If you can call it that. Yesterday, I visited the dentist to inquire about something they sent me in the mail and the receptionist informed me that we were expecting 1-4 inches of snow and asked me if I was looking forward to it. She said she was excited and that she had to go to the grocery store for bread and milk (Really? People really do this?? Especially for 1-4 inches of snow??). I said no, that I had moved from New Jersey and was happy to be in a place that doesn’t normally get snow, but that I found last year’s “snow” funny because of how everyone overreacted. (Now, as an aside, I do enjoy seeing snow, like, once a year. It is pretty when it’s not slushy and brown on the side of the road. But my car doesn’t handle it well and I hate how cold snow is.) I heard a chuckle behind me, and the other guy in the waiting room said that he was from Michigan and that he also found it funny that places here completely shut down for a dusting.

As I was watching Craig Ferguson last night, I saw lots of school closing messages, even though it wasn’t until the end of the show that I finally saw that it was snowing outside (I had been checking occasionally up to then, seeing nothing). I grumbled. When I woke up this morning, this is what I found on our front lawn:

"Snow"

"Snow"

I did see the kids on our street heading to the bus stop, so it seems at least my area didn’t cancel school for this “snow”. Chris did mention that he saw an accident on the way to work because someone went too fast over an icy bridge. That’s actually kind of the opposite kind of inappropriate snow driving than I observed last year. Last year, everyone drove about 10 miles an hour because “OMG! Snow is scary!!” Anyway, it’s pretty much gone already and I’m hoping there will be no more to come! I will see my yearly snow in March on our annual ski trip and that will be enough.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicki
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 23:27:34

    I’m jealous. We’ve been getting snow every other day here! I’m with you, I like snow once, but only because it’s pretty at first. It gets annoying and ugly real fast.

    And what was with the comment about getting bread and milk? Strange South Carolinians.

    Reply

  2. Christopher
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 12:12:24

    @Nicki: I’m jealous! I miss the snow of the northeast. Don’t miss the cost of living, though.

    Didn’t you know that everyone buys that for disaster preparedness? At the first sign of a horrible weather event, like a hurricane, blizzard, or zombie apocalypse, everyone always bum-rushes the grocery stores to buy milk, bread, and eggs. This is so you can make French Toast, obviously.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

