New Years Eve

Last year, Chris and I spent New Years alone, with Chris asleep in my lap by 11 pm, so this year, we decided to have a little party with 4 of our friends. It turned out pretty well, I think.

I spent the 2 days prior to New Years Eve cooking – who knew it took that much time to make food for a party? Or maybe it’s just me and my poor cooking skills, haha. We had finger-foods including 3 varieties of finger sandwiches (cheese-bacon, tuna, and cucumber – the consensus was that the cheese-bacon were the best of the 3) some party meatballs that ended up looking more like meat sauce but tasted ok, a really good curried cashew, pear and grape salad, and some typical things like chips, veggies, dip, and a cheeseball. I also made some cookies – Santa’s chocolate thumbprints, pumpkin chip cookies, raspberry and almond shortbread thumbprints, and my mom’s macadamia nut balls. Despite some issues while making the cookies, I think they all ended up tasting pretty good.

The Wii was played for a while until it was time to watch the ball drop. We had silly party hats and noise makers (which were apparently a hit!) and champagne glasses that lit up with changing colors (classy, huh? hehe). We watched the Ryan Seacrest/Dick Clark New Years show, which was slightly depressing, but that’s what I’ve always watched. Overall, it was a good time.

So, even though this post is quite a few days late, Happy New Years everyone! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christopher
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 15:32:15

    I wish to clarify that Dick Clark is the depressing part of that broadcast. It’s clear that he’s keeping active, and trying to stay sharp, but seeing a man who’s gone through what he’s been through struggle with dialog and basic television conversation breaks my heart every time.

    What are the alternatives? Carson Daly? Please.

    I think the party was a good time. The cat clearly did not enjoy the noise makers, though!

    Reply

  2. chii-wey
    Jun 14, 2009 @ 13:27:09

    OMG that’s us!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

