Christmas

Ok, so we’ve been super busy the past 2 weeks, but finally I can sit down and write a post about the holidays. We spent this past Christmas at my husband’s family’s house, which was loads of fun. I, of course, missed my parents and my sister, but I had a really good time. I really enjoy visiting Chris’s family.

Flights to and from Houston were ok. There was a big storm up in the northeast the day we left, so there were some delays even in our area in the south because of incoming planes, but we made it out nearly on time and luckily, Kevin, my brother in law, who was flying from New York made it out – quite late, but at least he made it. The flight down was fairly smooth, but we had a screaming, kicking kid behind us. Literally kicking our seats. Which, when you have a stomachache and sinus pressure making your teeth hurt, is not pleasant or fun. Really cute kid, but geez, I wanted to throw it out the emergency exit by the end of the flight. The flight back was a bit bumpy and we had a pretty rough landing. It was like, Silent Hill foggy out and nearly midnight when we landed. I actually thought we were still fairly high up in the clouds until about 5 seconds before we landed – we were up in the air, I saw a light emerge from below and thought we were finally through a thick cloud, realized it was really big for how high I though we were and then, bam, we hit the ground. Judging by how hard we landed, it kind of seemed like the pilot had just discovered how low we were too. I imagined him turning on the mic and yelling “Oh my gosh, the ground!!” As always, I flailed about and grabbed the seat – which Chris makes fun of by saying that I saved the plane by grabbing on to it.

Anyway, visiting Chris’s family was really great. I love getting to spend time with family. There was a lot of video game playing, 3 trips to El Jarito, the local Mexican restaurant (and the best I’ve ever had for the record), and just some good quality time with people we love.

It’s really neat to see how other people celebrate Christmas. Now, my family has a pretty busy Christmas routine – Christmas Eve, we go out to a nice restaurant for dinner, and sometimes go look at lights on houses around town. On Christmas day, we get up at like 7 am (except for that one year I didn’t…I was a butthead that year), open presents, my dad cooks breakfast and we eat, then we realize we forgot the stockings (don’t ask how we always forget. Though I sometimes think we don’t all really forget. I think it’s mainly just a fun “oh yeah, we still have stockings to open!”), then we sit around for a short time and relax before showering and driving an hour and a half to my aunt’s house for the day. It’s a lot of fun, but it’s also very busy.

This year, we had wine and cheese (and fabulous crab cakes, Kevin) on Christmas Eve followed by a candlelight service at their church, which was very pretty. Christmas day was much more laid back than I’m used to – we just kind of woke up whenever (though I made sure I was up at a reasonable hour so everyone wasn’t waiting forever for me), Kevin and Chris’s dad made breakfast, we made some phone calls to people to wish a merry Christmas, opened presents around noon, and played Wii until dinner (we also had fabulous deviled eggs made by Kevin, hehe).  Again, while I love my family’s traditions, it was also really nice to have a pretty relaxing Christmas.

Me and Chris in front of the tree

Me and Chris in front of the tree

)

Family 🙂

A Star Wars ornament. Im told its called a Lambda. It plays the Star Wars theme song when you push its button. The button was pushed often.

A Star Wars ornament. I'm told it's called a Lambda. It plays the Star Wars theme song when you push it's button. The button was pushed often.

I hope everyone else had a wonderful Christmas, too! Merry Belated Christmas! 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 14:05:15

    “As always, I flailed about and grabbed the seat – which Chris makes fun of by saying that I saved the plane by grabbing on to it.”

    OMG thats so funny!

    “Though I sometimes think we don’t all really forget. I think it’s mainly just a fun “oh yeah, we still have stockings to open!”)”

    That was always intentional. We missed you again this year. But I’m sure you had a wonderful time. You know, I think when Daddy and I are in our 70s, things will probably be much the same. Unfortunately.

    Reply

  2. Christopher
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 15:42:38

    That’s a Lambda CLASS SHUTTLE, thank you very much! Required reading can be found at the following link: Imperial T-4a Shuttle. There will be a test on Friday.

    Don’t forget that the screaming kid’s parents busted out a DVD player minutes after takeoff and turned it to maximum volume for screaming kid to watch. Maximum volume was to overcome the white noise of the engines. Headphones? Pshhhh! I’m not afraid to be “that guy” who tells the other passengers to knock off their antics if it bothers me. The DVD player was on for maybe ten seconds before I turned around and asked them to wear headphones. Polite, but very firm. They chose to put the DVD player away.

    The irony of this, of course, is that screaming kid might not have been screaming had she had something to distract her, like a DVD player.

    Reply

  3. chii-wey
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 12:48:48

    omg chris you are a spitting image of your brother!

    you and mel officially win the prize of ‘couple that looks most alike to their siblings!’

    creepyyyy….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

