Deck the halls

Well, the tree is up, the decorations are up, and the lights are up. 🙂 Christmas is one of my favorite times of year. It just makes me happy (frantic shopping and bad drivers aside). I think I may have gone a bit overboard inside this year, but oh well. Growing up, we always had tons of decorations in the house, so I just love decorating the house now.

The mantle with our stockings. Buffy gets one too!

The mantle with our stockings. Buffy gets one too!

My mom has a collection of Santas that she lines up on a little half wall between the kitchen and dining room and it’s becoming aparant that my collection will be reindeer. I don’t line them all up, but I do have quite a few, big and small.

Some more of my reindeer. Chris doesnt like the sparkly gold one. He thinks it looks like it has balls. Theyre gems!!

Just a few of my reindeer. Chris doesn't like the sparkly gold one. He thinks it looks like it has balls. They're gems!!

Some of my reindeer. Also Wellington and Wilbur, the fish. I think Wilbur is hiding.

Some more of my reindeer. Also Wellington and Wilbur, the fish. I think Wilbur is hiding.

I got a few new ones this year, and this one is my favorite of the year:

I do have a few Santas lined up, which makes me think of my mom. 🙂

So, theres like 7 Santas here. My moms Santa ledge has like 35 in about the same amount of space!

So, there's like 7 Santas here. My mom's Santa ledge has like 35 in about the same amount of space!

While I put up most of the indoor decorations myself, I make sure Chris helps with the tree and the lights. I’m not sure if it helps him get into the holiday spirit, but I like the tradition (and the help with the lights…). Our tree is kind of small, but we don’t have a big area for a big tree (it would be great if we could fit a nice big tree into our 2-story living room, but I think that would involve removing large pieces of furniture or setting up the tree in front of the TV). It’s also fake, but that’s ok. It has the benefit of being prelit, so the lights are all evenly spaced. Also notice we have no ball ornaments on this tree. I tried that once. The cat had a field day with the ornaments and by the end of the season, there was none left on the tree. So we stick with non-rolling ornaments. Buffy does still love sitting under the tree (often under the treeskirt as well) and occasionally she’ll bat at something on the tree (and once or twice has done a full speed running jump at the tree), but we keep non-breakable stuff near the bottom, so it’s all good.

Complete with a Chris head growing out the side! (We take lots of pictures like this where Chris is hiding, with just his head poking out)

Complete with a Chris head growing out the side! (We take lots of pictures like this where Chris is hiding, with just his head poking out)

It was amazingly cold when we put up the lights (this is the South, isn’t it supposed to be warm here??), but we got them all up. We bought a few extra things after Christmas last year, but the set of net lights we bought turned out to have a wire that wasn’t connected to the rest of it, making only part of it work and making me nervous that it was going to short out and set the house on fire, so we threw those out. Also, I keep forgetting to get another outdoor extension cord. Also, I’d really like expand next year to add some more icicle lights to the garage and maybe some more lights to the bushes in front of the porch.

Id really like to expand next year - add some more icicle lights to the garage and maybe add some more lights to the bushes.

I'd really like to expand next year - doesn't the garage look lonely?

Anyway, all this decorating has sure gotten me into the Christmas spirit. That and all the Trans-Siberian Orchestra I’ve been listening to! 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 00:33:27

    Very nice decorating! I’m glad some of me has rubbed off. And, yea, next year you should do the garage. Even things out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

