A confession

Ok…so I’m completely and utterly obsessed with the Twilight series. I’m midway through the 3rd book and I’ve just loved them so far. I was so resistant to even trying them, even though I didn’t really have anything against vampires – I loved Buffy the Vampire Slayer – I just hated how everyone compared it to Harry Potter and I’m a huge Harry Potter fan, so I took offense. For the record, I really don’t think Twilight is anything like Harry Potter – I guess you could say they’re both fantasy series, but it just isn’t similar at all otherwise.

They’re so good though. The first book has been my favorite so far. It’s just so…I don’t even know. It’s mysterious, suspenseful at times, really romantic and honestly, I spent half the time swooning. It’s a forbidden love story and because Edward, the vampire, has to be so careful around Bella, a human, it’s not smutty – it’s romantic and full of tension. It all just makes me want to keep reading – and I have, many times through the night (which is why I’m only halfway through the 3rd book despite starting the series about 2 weeks ago – I need to get some sleep.)

Anyway, as I mentioned yesterday, there was a certain movie I wanted to see in November (conveniently taking the release date of the pushed back Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – again, originally quite peeved at this, but now am just happy to have something (hopefully) good to look forward to! Though I still wish I could see HBP sooner.). Of course this is Twilight. I’m very much looking forward to it and I have high hopes. I’m not sure how I feel about the girl playing Bella; she seems a bit…off. She’s fairly plain, so that works, but her voice and personality is not quite what I pictured. Robert Pattinson is good, though, for Edward – I was kind of neutral on him as Cedric Diggory in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (though he did make me cry, whereas I did not while reading the book), but he’s very interesting looking and he’s exactly what I picture when I read the Twilight books, so I approve. Too bad Edward’s not British (Robert Pattinson is), I love the accent! Anyway, you can check out the 2 teaser trailers (and a few extra videos) here – just click on Video Gallery. I think a longer trailer is coming out next month, too!

Leave a Reply

