Filing my teeth into points

Another trip to the dentist today. She’s still mostly convinced my problem is an uneven bite, though I did seem to get through to her a bit about my concern that it might be something more, seeing as how the pain I’m having is reminiscent of the pain I had before my first root canal 4 years ago. But I agree that I want to rule out a simple problem like the bite before jumping into another root canal and the bite was definitely uneven – I could feel it and she showed me where my teeth were hitting too much using that blue bitey paper stuff – so she did some more filing.

After hearing about the filing from last week, Chris (who’s never had a cavity, lucky him, so didn’t know about the possible problems after getting a filling. Ok, maybe it’s not luck. Maybe it’s the 10 minutes he spends methodically brushing his teeth – you could compare it to something Monk would do.) joked that the dentist was trying to file my teeth into points. Unfortunately, I thought of this conversation and pictured my pointy teeth in my head mid-file and started laughing uncontrollably. Luckily there was no harm done to my teeth, but I think the dentist thinks I’m crazy. She thought she’d hit a tickley spot and I tried to explain why I was laughing, but could barely get it out I was laughing so much. I don’t know why I found it so funny. Actually one of my teeth is rather pointy now, but the bite is much more comfortable and even feeling and I’m sure the tiny spot will file down naturally.

So, now I wait another week to see if the pain subsides. If there’s no change or it gets worse, I call again. I don’t know what’s next. Unfortunately, I keep remembering that I’ve got another filling appointment in 3 weeks, so I’m worried this will just repeat every time until I’m done with the fillings. But I guess the root canal I had a couple months ago never gave me any problems, so maybe it’ll all be fine.

In other news, the release date of the new WoW expansion, Wrath of the Lich King was finally announced – November 13th! And I managed to preorder 2 copies of the Collector’s Edition! Yay! November’s going to be a busy month for us with that release (we’ll be attending the midnight release at our local GameStop, followed by playing for hours on end – yup, we’re dorks. Big ones.), the TSO concert, visiting my family for Thanksgiving, and a certain movie which I will talk about tomorrow (it requires a post all it’s own, teehee). Apparently Metallica, Chris’s favorite band, is playing in Houston, where Chris’s family lives, in November as well, but I don’t think we can afford to fly down to see it, so unfortunately we’ll have to give that a miss. But anyway, at least there’s some fun stuff on the horizon!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nicki
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 11:25:12

    That is absolutely hilarious….you would do that. I was reading it out loud to charlie and we both started laughing hysterically.

    I also tried that baby making thing and the baby that charlie and I made looked exactly like your girl with the blonde hair and the big forehead. Then, just as an experiment, I made a baby between me and my friend kristin, and we got the same baby haha…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

