10 Beauty Products I Love

I think I may do a series of posts on things I like and things I hate. Today’s topic: 10 beauty products I love:

  1. Dior Diorshow Mascara (in black) – Ok, this is a bit pricey, but I love it and when I do buy it, I try to make it last. This mascara is the best for creating a “false eyelash” look, which I love. It just makes my eyelashes so thick and long looking. It may sound odd, but an added bonus of this mascara is that it actually has a very pleasant rose-like scent. When I’m not using this mascara, I’ve found that CoverGirl’s Lash Blast does almost as good a job for a fraction of the price.
  2. Caress Glowing Touch body wash – This leaves a very subtle shimmer on your skin.
  3. Olay In-Shower Body Lotion – This leaves my skin super soft and moisturized. I can even skip regular lotion. Small warning though – it will leave your shower floor slightly slippery.
  4. Solia hair straightener – It straightens really well and leaves my hair super shiny. Plus, it’s still going strong after nearly 3 years.
  5. L’Oreal Voluminous Eyeliner (Black Brown) and Smashbox Cream Eyeliner (Midnight Brown) – Ok, we have a tie here. Since they’re similar products, I figured I’d lump them. I actually do use them in different situations, though. The L’Oreal eyeliner is a liquid that comes out of a felt tip, which makes it super easy to apply. The Black Brown color is also a good color for brunettes, since it’s not quite as harsh as black, but still dark enough. Perhaps the best bit is that it doesn’t flake like some liquid eyeliners can (it can smudge a bit if it’s very hot out though). I use this one when I just want a quick look that includes eyeliner, mascara, and blush. The Smashbox eyeliner is a cream eyeliner, which is applied using a slanted eyeliner brush. It takes a little longer to learn how to apply, but doesn’t smudge once it’s set. I use this eyeliner when I put on a more dramatic look that adds in eyeshadow for a smoky eye.
  6. Dior Hypnotic Poison – I love this scent. It’s spicy and musky and vanilla-y, which are all scents I like on their own. It also happens to be one of the few of my perfumes that doesn’t send my husband into an allergic frenzy, so that’s always nice.
  7. All of the products from the Dove Pro-Age face line – I use the foaming face wash, day moisturizer, rich night cream, and eye treatment. My face looks and feels amazing after I use these products. The night cream leaves my skin really soft and moisturized without feeling greasy. I’m also happy to have a day moisturizer that has a bit of SPF in it that doesn’t clog my pores. It was particularly refreshing to find an “anti-wrinkle” regimen that doesn’t irritate my sensitive skin.
  8. Natural Ice Lip Balm – I’m not a fan of lipstick at all and I only put on lip gloss for special events, so this is what I always put on my lips. It’s basically medicated chapstick, so it protects and moisturizes my lips and leaves them tingly. I actually find that the tingly component tends to emphasize my natural lip color, so I don’t feel I need anything else.
  9. Bare Minerals – I always find that these products leave my skin looking airbrushed. I’ve been lucky to have pretty good skin to start off with, but it’s pretty sensitive, so if I’ve got irritation from something else or a few blemishes, this just makes my skin look flawless, without giving me any further irritation. I only use the foundation powder (I use Light) when my skin is looking kinda funky, but the blush (I use Secret) and bronzer are always helpful.
  10. The Venus Embrace – I used to think all these Venus razors were the same, but I swear this one gives me the best super-close shave. My legs are soo smooth after using this 5-blade razor. If you’ve already got a Venus razor, skip the whole starters set and just get the replacement blades since they’re all universal fits for each other. I use the blades on the Vibrance body. I wonder when we’ll be up to the Mach20
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. sublimefemme
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 17:55:59

    You’re right, Diorshow Mascara is hands-down the best! I love a glam lash, so I wear it everyday except when I need waterproof mascara, and then I turn to my MAC ProLash. Have you ever tried the Diorshow waterproof?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

