Sigh

Well, congratulations to the American men’s gymnastics team for getting the bronze in the team competition tonight! I can’t say I’m completely enthused with the results, but bronze is certainly pretty great. I was so excited watching the first half of the competition. The American’s were leading halfway through, it was amazing! They had some really spectacular performances on the high bar – oh my gosh, it made me so nervous to watch, but it just looked so cool! I was a bit disappointed in the little mistakes the team kept making from that point on, though. Especially from the alts. A 12 and a 13 in scores (most of the scores shown throughout the show were around 15 which is considered good, amazing is over 16, I think 17 is the limit)?? Really?? *sigh* It really just made me wonder what could have been if the Hamm brothers had been able to go. They were so freakin’ good in the last Olympics. They were what made me really get into the men’s gymnastics for the first time! It would have meant a definite silver and the team could have even been a serious contender for gold!

Obviously they’re way, way greater than I ever was at gymnastics, but still, am I wrong for hoping for the best and expecting at least their best?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Aug 30, 2008 @ 17:26:56

    Wow. I never knew you were that interested in mens gymnastics.

    Reply

  2. sleepymel
    Aug 30, 2008 @ 18:24:35

    Well, it actually started with the Athens Olympics in 2004. I was doing orientation for the TA position, staying in that hotel until my apartment was ready and there wasn’t anything else to do, so I started watching and it was really interesting. So, I watched again this year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

