Movie Reviews

The hubby and I have actually gotten out to a few movies recently, so I thought I’d make a few little reviews of them. Here ya go!

Iron Man

I’m so-so on the whole comic book theme (I seem to only like the big ones like Spiderman and Batman), so I really had no interest in seeing this movie. However, the hubby promised me a chick-flick of my choosing in return, so I went. And I really liked it. I didn’t think I was a fan of Robert Downey Jr, but I thought he did a good job. I didn’t even mind Gwyneth Paltrow. The story was pretty good, there was lots of action, and it had a few funny parts. Overall, I considered it good enough to withdraw my deal for a chick-flick movie, as it didn’t seem fair anymore to ask him to see Sex and the City when I actually enjoyed my part of the bargain. Don’t forget to stick around past the credits to see an extra little scene.

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull

I was really looking forward to this one, having really liked the original 3. If you go into it expecting it to be on par with the originals, you will be disappointed. This is not to say it was bad, though. I enjoyed it quite a bit. It was entertaining, had the essence of an Indiana Jones movie, had lots of action, and the I actually mostly liked the addition of Shia LaBeouf (despite not being much of a fan previously). The problem was simply that it felt a bit forced at times. There were several points where it seemed like they decided to resort to copying scenes directly from the originals, like having a car chase through the woods. Harrison Ford also looked very old, and while he is actually supposed to be older in the story, it was almost sad to watch him attempt to be the same Indiana he used to be. Also, the explanation of the crystal skull seemed to fit into a different genre compared to the originals, though I won’t say anymore to avoid spoilers. Overall, go for the entertainment, just don’t expect the originals.

Get Smart

I loved the TV series. I used to watch it with my dad when I was younger and I thought it was really funny. The movie didn’t disappoint me. The characters are slightly different (Max seems a bit more competent and 99 seems a bit more surly), but overall it worked. Steve Carell was hilarious (love him) and as the movie went on, I grew to really like Anne Hathaway (I’ve also really liked her in Ella Enchanted, The Devil Wears Prada, and the Princess Diary movies). This was a great lighthearted comedy and I laughed really hard. Added bonus for those who watched the TV series – there are a few references to the series which are pretty funny, like the updated Cone of Silence.

WALL-E

Let me premise this by saying I love Disney/Pixar and I love most animated films. Having said that, I loved this movie. It had a great story with a good message and the main characters, though robots without much in the way of language skills, conveyed emotion well and seemed more human than most of the actual humans in the movie. It was quite funny at some parts, while heartwarming at others. It’s great for kids and adults. What else can I say? Go see it. 🙂

Hellboy 2: The Golden Army

Another comic book movie here that I had no interest in seeing, but our friends invited us, so I figured why not? I would still say Iron Man was better as far as comic book movies go, but I liked this movie. I’ll need to rent the original as I don’t remember it at all, but I think you can still enjoy the movie even if you hadn’t seen the original because they do a little background in the beginning.  I don’t really understand why there was such a gap between the 2 movies, unless they didn’t originally plan to make a sequel. This was another movie with good action. I really liked the main enemy and the fighting was pretty cool to watch, though Hellboy tends to be a bit “HULK SMASH” at times. There was also love, but if you’re looking for a love movie, look elsewhere; it felt a little forced here. There is also hints at a possible sequel (or at least a storyline I’d like to read), but hopefully it won’t be 4 years out this time.

We’ve thought about seeing The Incredible Hulk, Wanted, and Hancock also. We may still see Hulk, but I’m not sure about the others – I’m not really a fan of Angelina Jolie (Wanted) and I’ve heard Hancock was pretty bad. The hubby also seems to want to see Kung Fu Panda, but I’m not sure about that either. We’re definitely looking forward to seeing The Dark Knight. I’ve also got some movies to watch while the hubby’s away next week for business – 27 Dresses, Definitely, Mabye, and Fool’s Gold. Gotta get my chick-flicks in while I can!

Leave a Reply

