Almost time!

Yay! Almost time for vacation! We dropped off Buffy at the kennel/kitty hotel  (I always get sad leaving her, but I know she’ll be fine) and we’ve got a flight out tomorrow at 5:45 am. Don’t even get me started on that departure time.  I’m totally not a morning person, and I think I’ll probably be better off not sleeping tonight, since sleeping only 3-4 hours makes for a cranky Mel.

Speaking of flights, I just found out that a lot of airlines are going to start charging for the FIRST bag you check. Are they kidding?? Like I’m going to go on a week-long vacation with only what fits into a carry-on? Now I’m a girly girl, who likes clothing options and my own shampoo. Even pared down to the minimum, a carry-on would get me a weekend’s worth of clothing and no toiletries of any sort since we aren’t allowed liquids on planes. I suppose I understand that with fuel prices what they are, they need to charge more, but it seems awfully restrictive to make us pay to bring stuff with us on a vacation – it’s not really optional. Heck, it may be cheaper to Fed-Ex our stuff direct to our hotel room.

Tanning Update: Well, I’m noticeably tanner than the hubby finally. Not that that’s saying much, since he’s a video game nerd like myself, and therefore generally is only exposed to the glow of the computer rather than the sun. We’ll see tomorrow how I compare with my sister, who got all the tan genes in the family (and the light-colored eyes, darn her). At the very least, I actually feel more confident, so I’m happy.

Anyway, I’m really excited and really looking forward to seeing everyone. I keep a journal while on vacations, so when I get back, I’ll try to post some highlights with a few pictures!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 19:41:36

    Aha! Found you! You can thank N. Is this like a little diary for us to see? How sweet.
    However, the stuff dealing with WOW, I can’t for the life of me even begin to comprehend.

    Reply

  2. sleepymel
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 20:29:36

    Haha, I’m glad. Yeah, I wasn’t sure if I’d have enough to say at first, so I didn’t really tell anyone about it, but I’ve been posting for about a month and it’s kinda fun. I’ll try to keep it updated since I don’t call as much as I should…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

