A break in your regularly scheduled programming

Ok, so I need to have a rant. All weekend, I kept hearing the news of that record breaking baby born at 16 lbs 1 oz. (See here). That’s almost how much Emily weighs now, at 7 months. It seemed like the media was all  “Oh my gosh! Look at this amazing big baby! It breaks the records! How cool!” But after I looked into it, my guess was correct – the mom had gestational diabetes. As someone who had gestational diabetes, I was made fully aware of all the potential risks to the baby – getting too big, increased possibility of needing a C-section, problems regulating their blood sugar after being born therefore necessitating a stay in the NICU, and worst of all, albeit rarely and in highly uncontrolled diabetes, stillbirth. Now, I know I don’t know for sure, but it certainly seems to me that this woman could not possibly have been watching her blood sugar. Her baby had the first 3 of those 4 risks. She’s lucky she didn’t have the 4th.

I checked my blood sugar 4 times a day, reported them to a nurse once a week, who reported them to a doctor to see if any changes needed to be made in my diet or medication. I was vigilant about checking carb numbers – I even had an Android app to check restaurant foods. I stuck to the diet.  I had 2 3rd trimester ultrasounds to check her size. And Emily was not large, nor did she have any health issues whatsoever. My doctors commended me for how well I kept it under control. Sure, I missed sugar, but it’s short term, and with the end goal of a healthy baby! It’s a no-brainer. If this woman wasn’t controlling her intake, she’s stupid. Again, maybe I’m wrong. Maybe she did follow the diet to a T and take medication if she needed it. In that case, the doctors should have considered an earlier induction/scheduled C-section. Though I suppose too much earlier may have increased the risk of immature lungs. I don’t know. I just think they needed to keep a better eye on his size and make sure the diabetes didn’t lead to a huge baby. His weight should have been easy to estimate on an ultrasound – within a pound either way. 16 pounds is not a healthy weight for a newborn. And the baby, last I checked, was in the NICU for help regulating sugar levels.  His body was used to having to produce enough insulin to regulate the high levels of sugar his mom ate, so he now probably makes too much for just his body and has low blood sugar.

Again (again), I know I don’t know the circumstances, but I just can’t see how this could be any other situation than mom not controlling her blood sugar and doctors not doing enough to either encourage her to control it or do something themselves to make sure this kid was born healthy. The size and health issues probably could have, and should have, been prevented. Ugh, I’m just upset that the media is treating this as a funny/lighthearted news story.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mama
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 19:29:03

    Yes, unfortunatley, making the headlines is all that matters to some people. Hopefully, this baby will live a healthy life, despite his mothers lack of common sense. You just keep on being a great Mommy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

