Month 4-5!

Well, this was an exciting month! We had a couple of firsts:

- She started rolling well front to back early this month.

- We also noticed that if we position her just so (so that her hands are in front of her on top of her feet), she’ll sit on her own for maybe 10 seconds or so. Not long, but it’s a start! Chris says she looks like a gorilla when she does it, haha.

- At the start of the month, at her 4 month appointment (which I completely forgot to list weights and all for – she was 13 lbs 10 oz and 24 inches, both 50th percentile), her doctor gave us permission to start solids. So, we started with a little rice cereal in her bottle, just to get her used to the taste. She didn’t seem to notice. The first time I tried to spoon feed her, about a week later, she was like, “What the heck are you sticking in my mouth?” and didn’t know what to do with it, so it was dribbling out a lot. By mid-month, I made it a bit less runny and that seemed to help. She seemed a bit unsure of the texture, but she ate it! From a spoon! In the third week, she tried oatmeal cereal and in the final week, she tried barley cereal. I think she liked the rice cereal the best. As of 5 months, she was getting 1 tbsp of cereal once a day, plus how ever many bottles of breastmilk she wants (I don’t really keep track or schedule it. I just feed her when she’s hungry).

- I think I just forgot to mention this last month, but she discovered her feet before 4 months and was loving them this month. Still hadn’t made their way to her mouth, but she loved holding them and kicking them and folding herself up like a pretzel.

- Chris’s brother came to visit, which I think confused Emily a bit. They look a lot alike, so she must’ve been thinking, “Hmm, why do I have 2 daddies? One that’s furry and one that’s not.” But she definitely liked him and the visit went well. We even took her to her first real restaurant! She was awesome!! She spent the first half quietly staring at everything. I think she liked having so many people to look at. And then she got tired and fell asleep. No crying! I was soo happy! And I got to eat yummy crab legs!

I’ve also discovered that she seems to get a bit bored at home. We spend the morning going around between her various baby activities at home, like the exersaucer, jungle mat, and other floor toys so she can practice rolling. Then, most days, she’ll take a nap. We’re still working on napping in her crib instead of the swing. It’s about 50/50 now. And then in the afternoon, we go out. We unfortunately don’t have a zoo or aquarium anywhere nearby (if we did, I’d buy yearly passes and be there ALL THE TIME), so we just go to the mall or Target to walk around, or do whatever other errands we need to do. We’ve also been to the library. When she’s a little older, we’ll go to the playground nearby and we’re hoping over the summer to introduce her to the pool, too. Anyone know of an infant floaty for babies as young as 6 months? We have 2 – one says 9 mo + and the other says 1-3 years…

Since we didn’t have a 5 month appointment, I just weighed her myself and she was 15 lbs! She’s now in size 2 diapers (on their way to getting snug) and is kinda between size 3 mo and 6 mo clothing (she fits in some of each, but some 3 mo are tight and some 6 mo are baggy).

As far as sleep goes, she goes to bed between 6:30 and 7 pm. Chris and I both go up and we have a little changing routine, where he does the diaper and “baby hat” (as he changes her from her day clothing, he leaves it on top of her head like a hat) and I do lotion (since visiting the dermatologist, her skin is soo much better). Then I go and sit in the rocker and Chris blasts her off from the changing table and flies her over to me, where I rock her for 5-10 minutes before putting her in the crib. She goes to sleep so much better these days. And as of 5 months, was still getting up once or twice a night to eat.

Baby hat!

Easter was…interesting. Chris unfortunately got food poisoning the night before (we think) so spent the night sick and the day in bed. I did show Emily her Easter basket and dress her up in her Easter outfit, but we didn’t do Easter dinner till the following weekend (a yummy lamb soup Chris made in the crock pot along with some broccoli casserole I made!).

The Easter Bunny came to visit! The first one is Emily's, the second is Chris's (minus a World of Warcraft book I'd already taken out for him) and the third is mine (minus the shirt I'd already taken out).

That same weekend, we also got together with the neighbors and they grilled for us. It was a good time! Emily stayed up way past her bedtime, but she did well. She only got fussy during dinner. And their little son, Sam, was so cute! He kept bringing things over for Emily. And when we put her on a blanket during dinner (after she was getting fussy), he wanted to get down from his highchair and sit next to her. It’s nice to have a nice couple next door who have a 1.5 year old and a little girl on the way!

And as usual here are her monthly shots (totally didn’t notice that her bow got all wonky in that second shot, haha):

Doing her best T-rex impression

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Baby Making Mama
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 06:59:09

    What a beautiful little girl! Congrats on her growth mama! And I love er beautiful outfits! Lil’ J has the same froggy PJs! :)

    And thanks for the watermark tip. I’ve tried it a few times but can’t bring myself to use it like that yet because I have a copyright notice I can still take “legal action” if I see it someplace else, but adding that in the center of the photo would definitely deter people from taking them in the first place. So we shall see! I may start doing that too! Thanks mama!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

